Reader reviews and comments on White Oleander, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

White Oleander

by Janet Fitch

White Oleander
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1999, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 8
There are currently 62 reader reviews for White Oleander
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Evan D. Goodstein (10/28/02)

What a great story..... glued to the pages !!!
Erica (10/21/02)

wow
sway (07/17/02)

Painful, dark, and optimistic, Janet Fitch brings us a world sometimes too much like our own. This novel is original and unique in a literary sea of the mudane and predictable. Far too often I've found myself 49 pages into a book, able at that moment to tell you exactly what will play out, the basis of the entire story. White Oleander is not that kind of novel. When you pick up this story be prepared to dedicate your mind to it because it will take you away if you're willing to let it. Astrid and Ingrid remind us that we never know anyone, not ourselves, not our friends, not our lovers, not our mothers. Trying to pigeon hole these characters is a futile battle, rather one should enjoy their decisions their steps and their outcomes, whether you are to fully understand their motives or not. They are gripping and haunting, deep and layered. Enjoy this incredible writing, it has been a while since I've seen this kind of intricate storyline combined with such rich characters.



luckysix13@hotmail.com
Deborah (06/11/02)

I loved this book. It left me with a good feeling about peoples strengths in themselves. The words were soul searching. Parts of the book made me cry. The characters were so real as if they really existed. I look forward to reading her next book.
lisa (05/11/02)

it was good
Kellyn (05/06/02)

In my english room our teacher had just given us a new "project" to work on (he's forever giving us projects). So i was totally bummed, but then I became interested in the book White Oleander. All I needed to know was,what the book was about, and I was bought. So i basicly ended up reading the whole thing to get a desent grade in the class. Truthfully,I was suprized at the reaction a had on the book i felt it was a great book,i recomend it to anyone between the ages 13 and older.I'm 16 and the only reason I think 13 year olds should be able to read it is because Astrid (the main character in the story)is 13 herself so i highly recommend this book to anyone between those ages....


Thankz Kellyn
April (04/30/02)

I am simply amazed at the upbringing of children in foster care. I have never had to deal with that life, and I wish it didn't even exist. Astrid is an amazing woman, even tho she's just a character in a book, she's real to me. I wish I could meet her, talk to her, hold her. I always take a few days off from reading when Ive finished an epic novel, to bathe in every word. To really understand every page. From beginning to end, I loved this book. I finished it in 8 days. If anyone would like to talk about the book or others, I'm always taking suggestions, email me at SunnayBunny@hotmail.com

Thanks :)
Bacteria (04/11/02)

Well written, it was time well wasted.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.