Reader reviews and comments on White Oleander, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

White Oleander

by Janet Fitch

White Oleander
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1999, 390 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2000, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 8
There are currently 62 reader reviews for White Oleander
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Adrian Brieler (05/23/03)

This is one of the most amazing books I've ever read. I've never read something so incredibly powerful as this. I was moved by the intense lyrical beauty of it and just about everything else about it. Janet Finch is a truly gifted author
Maliktahamapemba (05/20/03)

I apologize this is not a review, I could take the time to search for a forum on it(if one exists) but I have other things to do, so I hope you don't mind. I would like some content info about the book. The movie was very unorthadox by today's standards, of editing (as in making them non existent) sexual images-- though they were some of the theme. I'm hoping the book is similar in this regaurd, if not, what is the extent of explicitness? Could someone please email me this info, and anyother you think i may be concerned about; at : maliktahamapemba@hotmail.com. Thank you very much.
Megan (05/08/03)

I simply adore the book. Finch's writing is so gripping and unique that I can rarely put the book down. I cryed which is somthing I never do when reading a novel unless its as good as white Oleander. It changed my life, astrid's jorney though life seems close to home for me. Foster care is quiet horrid and her decription of it is so persise and delicate.
Saima (05/07/03)

Honestly, it is the best book I've ever read. The amount of realism in this book is absolutely breathtaking. I show deep empathy for Astrid and it makes me enjoy the book even the more better. Her understanding of this bitter world makes me love her character. I can't see how anyone could possibly be disappointed with this book.
Tiffany (04/24/03)

I loved the book. It was so awesome, the movie was great also but nothing beats the book. Thank you Janet for giving me such a wonderful book to read. I hope your next novel is as wonderful as the White Oleander.
Jasmine (03/04/03)

White Oleander is an amazing novel. From the first paragraph to the last i was totally enthralled with this book. I couldn't put it down. When i wasnt reading i was thinking about it. Every charactor in the book was real, I saw myself in each one. I have not read a book like it and cannot wait to read the next by janet fitch.. Way to go on your first novel. If things can only get better, i can't wait.
Shazia (03/02/03)

This incredible story about hope and determination, solitude and relationships, had me engrossed from beginning to end. The emotions that were evoked from me were directly related to the intense and beautifully scripted prose that Janet Fitch constructed. Truly an eye-opener.
krystie (02/23/03)

this book had a soft lyrical sense of language. the realistic themes help a younger generation to feel more alert to life. this book also helps provide a justification for people who have experienced the horror of child abuse. i am proud to give it a 5.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.