Reader reviews and comments on Sister of My Heart, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Sister of My Heart

by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Sister of My Heart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 1999, 322 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2000, 322 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Sister of My Heart
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

gabbagabby (02/17/15)

Not too bad.
The book was beautifully written and was incredibly interesting. Everything happened for a reason, there was hardly any miscellaneous details. Although, and this is just a personal opinion, I found Sudha's character particularly annoying. Yes she had moments when she was very selfless, but it seemed like she was weak at the same time.
durai selvi (05/27/10)

lovely
It is the book of love and care between two sisters. I amazed by reading. thank you chitra sister. Write like this to enlighten the society
radbad35 (08/03/04)

This book was amazing....I was wondering if anyone had a character list if the book. Read it! The first two charcters are the book are confusing with many charcters being introduced but read on. It's exciting!
Anonymous (05/20/04)

I loved this book and am recommending it as summer reading for my reading group. It is beautifully written and a very compelling story.
J. Tatsch (03/21/04)

Seeing the events through the eyes of Sudha and Anju in alternating chapters makes an interesting read. All the details of a family life in Calcutta, especially the expectations of the extended family are fascinating and incorporated naturally into the story. I found it hard to put down.
Anonymous (07/28/03)

Hi All

So here's my effort on why I think Sister of My Heart is such an excellent book.

It crosses the barriers between love and culture; how sacrifice is neither good nor bad.

The novel allows me as a person, between two quite diverse cultures, to identify with the situations and compose myself to believe that "Yes this is very true" - it at times maybe just story but beneath the words there is a very emotional truth.

The book is wonderful as it allows the true expressions of a woman's life in its entirety to show - what it is like to be a traditional Indian woman yet how society and family and life can dictate the path on which she treads.

Furthermore when the Indian woman does make her own decisions how others percept these - a very intelligent book - once you start reading its just continuously intriuging - the descriptive element makes you almost feel yourself in the book as a charachter...however I am like Sudha - though at times Anju...
Mary Michael (03/18/03)

Excellent book. Everyone in my book club enjoyed. The insight into the Indian culture is fascinating. A book that appeals to 12 different people is truly amazing. A delightful read. I have already started the sequel, VINE OF DESIRE, because I have to know what happens!

Mary Michael
Chicago
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.