Reader reviews and comments on Daughter of Fortune, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Daughter of Fortune

by Isabel Allende

Daughter of Fortune
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Daughter of Fortune
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Allende fan (01/06/08)

Daughter of Fortune Review
What could have been a brilliant work of fiction, what with its thorough research and exquisite writing, becomes instead a trashy novel, filled with immoral sexual activity and explicit pornographic details. Also a turnoff is the implied negativity aimed at Catholicism and the praise of witchcraft. Even Allende's ethereal way with words is not enough to atone for the pre-marital sexual activity. My recommendation: do not read this book; instead take up the Alexander Cold series -- well-written, imaginative and, best of all, clean.
Barbara (02/14/07)

Daughter of Fortune
I really enjoyed Isabel Allende's "Daughter of Fortune." The plot is easily predictable, with Allende giving plenty of clues as to how the story will develop, even after the last page. But the intrigue wasn't in the story line, as much as it was in the wonderful descriptions of the characters' lives. The similar beginnings of Tao's and Eliza's lives, how their societies shaped their motivation, and their experiences as outsiders in a land full of outsiders was fascinating.
Amanda (05/02/04)

A good, easy read but still the same old romance novel. I was left disappointed with the ending, I wished it would have been more definitive. I have a hard time seeing the two characters together. I would compare it to Danielle Steel novels. They are fun to read yet somewhat lacking in substance. I thought some of the sexual descripitions were not needed for the story line. I think the sexual references would have been better had it been more about love and less about self-fulfiment.
miburo (04/28/04)

Well, I didn't like this book as much as my other novel, memoirs of a geisha. However, the details of the character's background, especially Tao Chi'en's, is really well prepared. A good read, even though the ending could be improved.
Margaret (01/03/04)

This was a pretty good book. I usually just read a book to read it, but I couldn't do that for this one. I actually had to READ it. And it did go slowly in the begining, but I still felt compelled to finish, even if it was for school. It wasn't about all the glory about being a feminist in a male society. The character was very real. I finished reading the book much more satisfied then I was when I began. I may even read it again. Each character has a story of its own, and even though the plots are somewhat basic, theyare interwovenwithwounderful detial and feeling that make the book what it is.
stephanie 1 (11/30/03)

I STRONGLY dislike this book. I am an avid reader but the strong sexual commentation in the book turns me away. I am seriously questioning wether or not I can finish the book, but I have to for english. If you do not like reading don't read this book. If you love reading don't read this book unless you 30-40 years of age. It just wont appeal to you.
Theresa (07/27/03)

When I started this book, I was questioning whether or not I would finsih it. I usually like books that keep you "hooked" from the beginning. But after reading it for awhile, I felt that I needed to finsih it. I've got to say though -I just finsihed the book and I'm unable to get the characters and the story out of my head. It was amazing that the author wrote such intricate stories involving each person involved in the book. I felt like, not only did I get to truly know Eliza, but got to know each and every other character inside and out. This book made me feel like I was on the adventure with Eliza. It also was so real to every day life -meaning sometimes you think you truly want something, only to find that the quest to find that something leads you to what you were truly meant to have. Great story. Look forward to reading other works by this author.
Sarah (04/23/03)

I'm 17, and I read this book twice. I thought it was very well written, and I was able to learn something about an era that I wasn't familiar with. It is a very detailed novel, and the plot was very well developed. I would recommend this novel to anyone.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.