Reader reviews and comments on Gap Creek, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gap Creek

by Robert C. Morgan

Gap Creek
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2000, 324 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2000, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Gap Creek
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kate (07/11/02)

This book was over-rated by its jacket reviews. It was a disappointing
story with little reward. I don't need much as far as story line as I truly enjoy Willa Cather's books but this book just didn't make it - the
characters were flat and it's a book that probably won't have a long life
as it actually had little to say.Text
Melissa (04/10/02)

I loved this book. This is definitly the best book I have ever read. A friend was reading it and I asked how it was and they said it was pretty good. So as soon as she checked in into the library I checked it out. I couldnt put it down and I plan on reading it again.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Ginny
I loved this book, but was VERY disappointed in the ending. I enjoyed the author's ability to weave old fashioned insights into his work. I felt as though I were living back at the turn of the century with his wonderfully descriptive prose. I really enjoyed the in-depth descriptions of the food and the cleaning - of what it took to survive back then when you didn't have any money. And how a good meal was something that was savored and appreciated.
I couldn't help feeling though that the author never really ended the book, but rather just simply stopped writing. If I didn't know better, I'd think someone ripped out the last chapter of my copy of the book!
On the whole though I thought it was a wonderful read and I would recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Beverley
Morgan has a gift for description of the revolting sides of life, but I got tired of and desensitized by the repetition and found the plot development very slow. It tried my patience. Also, Julie and Hank as well as the minor characters were flat and Julie in particular implausibly annoyingly in her one dimensional passivity and acceptance that life is to be endured and that one has few choices. A disappointing novel unless you want to read about cutting up hogs and the seamy side of nature.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.