Reader reviews and comments on Gap Creek, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Gap Creek

by Robert R. Morgan

Gap Creek by Robert R. Morgan X
Gap Creek by Robert R. Morgan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2000, 324 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2000, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Gap Creek
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kate (07/11/02)

This book was over-rated by its jacket reviews. It was a disappointing
story with little reward. I don't need much as far as story line as I truly enjoy Willa Cather's books but this book just didn't make it - the
characters were flat and it's a book that probably won't have a long life
as it actually had little to say.Text
Melissa (04/10/02)

I loved this book. This is definitly the best book I have ever read. A friend was reading it and I asked how it was and they said it was pretty good. So as soon as she checked in into the library I checked it out. I couldnt put it down and I plan on reading it again.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Ginny
I loved this book, but was VERY disappointed in the ending. I enjoyed the author's ability to weave old fashioned insights into his work. I felt as though I were living back at the turn of the century with his wonderfully descriptive prose. I really enjoyed the in-depth descriptions of the food and the cleaning - of what it took to survive back then when you didn't have any money. And how a good meal was something that was savored and appreciated.
I couldn't help feeling though that the author never really ended the book, but rather just simply stopped writing. If I didn't know better, I'd think someone ripped out the last chapter of my copy of the book!
On the whole though I thought it was a wonderful read and I would recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Beverley
Morgan has a gift for description of the revolting sides of life, but I got tired of and desensitized by the repetition and found the plot development very slow. It tried my patience. Also, Julie and Hank as well as the minor characters were flat and Julie in particular implausibly annoyingly in her one dimensional passivity and acceptance that life is to be endured and that one has few choices. A disappointing novel unless you want to read about cutting up hogs and the seamy side of nature.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.