Reader reviews and comments on Victoria, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Victoria

by Daisy Goodwin

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin X
Victoria by Daisy Goodwin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2016, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 6
There are currently 42 reader reviews for Victoria
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kathleen W. (New Brighton,, MN) (10/06/16)

The Flip Side of the Victorian coin
The reader of this review needs to understand two things upfront: the reviewer is a longtime reader of British history (both fiction and non) and a loyal fan of MASTERPIECE television.

VICTORIA by Daisy Goodwin covers the relatively short time between the 18 year old Victoria becoming Queen of the British Isles and her meeting with her future husband, Prince Albert. That is a strength of this book-providing the reader with a narrower set place in time of plot and characters. Historical fiction can sometimes work against itself in terms of the heft of details to be understood. This narrowing allows the author Goodwin to do a more than credible job in presenting both plot and character in such a way as to enable the reader to easily follow the narrative as well as to gain insight into the motivations of supporting and lead characters. That is not to say that Victoria's strict and strident early years are ignored; they are dealt with in such a way that the reader comes away with a clear understanding of both the social/political complexities of that time as well as the complexities of character of the young queen who will lead her Britain into the 20th century. Goodwin provides a valuable service in showing both the romantic / passionate young girl as well as the naive/ isolated / insecure context from which she springs. This rendering compares starkly with the only visual that some readers will have of the dour and reclusive final years of her lengthy reign. The reviewer was especially interested to experience the "fleshing out" of the characters of Prime Minister Melbourne, Victoria's mother and Princes Albert and Ernst. Goodwin takes much of her content from the diaries of Victoria who began writing voluminously when she was but 12. I happily anticipate the screen adaptation which is to appear in the US in January of 2017.
Power Reviewer
Sue J. (Brookfield, WI) (10/05/16)

Victoria
Victoria was an enjoyable historical read. I found the dialogue interesting as well as the descriptions of the mansions and clothing. Though the story did drag a bit for me at times (Victoria's obsession with Lord M), I appreciated the struggles of an eighteen year old girl becoming the Queen of England. I was disappointed that the novel didn't include Victoria's first few years of marriage to Albert and how that impacted her reign.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.