Reader reviews and comments on Snow Falling On Cedars, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Snow Falling On Cedars

by David Guterson

Snow Falling On Cedars
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1994, 345 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 1995, 460 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 6
There are currently 44 reader reviews for Snow Falling On Cedars
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Njones (10/02/02)

Snow Falling on Cedars is a book which captures the mind and allows you to see things from another perspective other than your own. David Guterson shows American society in ways which are not always shown. The book is a great one to study and a fantastic read! ....A Fantastic and enchanting book!
Bonnie (03/20/02)

I agree that David Gutterson's 'Snow Falling on Cedars' is a fabulous book and although i had to read it for school, i enjoyed it so much and all the people that said that they didn't like it probably had a bad teacher who didn't inspire them. It is a story with so much depth and meaning, it gives us a strong message that should not be ignored and is captivating and extrimly well written
Jess (03/16/02)

I was utterly captivated by Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars. Guterson's eloquent description and intense character portrayals created a passionate, heartwarming story about truth, love, justice and human emotion. I couldn't put the book down.
big_73_13 (03/12/02)


The book was very boring and long. It dosen't hold your attention. Had to read it for class.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Gracie
I also had to read this book for school, and found it incredibly slow going and boring. It doesn't seem relevant crime fiction at all, and is more a love story than a novel about anything else...I do think that the book was way too long, and the ending kind of disappointing. It brought up good moral and ethical points, but was way too heavy going for me.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Johnny D
Look, this guy has a good story, but he just isn't a very good writer. He goes into LONG descriptions of scenery, etc. in a way reminiscent of Dickens but nowhere near as good. Dickens was cute when he tried to thicken his books, Guterson is just boring. He actually begins to trip over his own descriptive words, using "miasma" and "implacable snow" like a hundred times. He is under the high-school impression that more details and more vocab are always good. Snow Falling on Cedars really does read like it was written by a high school student. He even pulls the Si-Fi trick of including a made-up map! That's just dumb.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

George Benny Deol
The Snow falling on cedars is an Interesting book but I would say very overly detailed. There are some sections of the book which are not very well described at the same time they are too lengthy. But overall it's a new sort of story reflecting lots of incidents pertaining to WWII & The Japanese people. I like the book and enjoyed reading it.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Canberra Student
I am presently studying this book in an English class called 'Crime fiction'. Most of the people in my class found that the book is way too detailed and therefore is really, really boring. I really didn't like it and at the moment I have an essay to write on it. The whole story can be cut down to 50 pages and it would still have the same effect. The author seemed to steer off the track way too often. I did not like it!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.