Reader reviews and comments on Firebird, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Firebird

by Janice Graham

Firebird
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 1998, 301 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 1999, 335 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 14 reader reviews for Firebird
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (12/03/01)

I was always told that I was good with words because I love writing and plan to be a writer myself, but one of the few things I can barely put into words are my feelings of "Firebird". I came across the book at a book sale; I was just browsing and looking for nothing in particular, and then I came across it. Something compelled me to buy and I only took two breaks reading it because of sleep. I've read many books, but this one is by far my favorite because Janice Graham grabbed my heart, put it in the pages of the book, and made me connect to the readers with feeling; which is what literature is all about-exploring the human condition. I cried a river when I finished the last page and I could barely contain the magnitude of my emotions. We often times read books to escape reality, but this amazing book tells us of reality and by connecting with these characters we can discover that we aren't alone in our problems. Even though the characters are fictional, we know in our hearts that they are real people-and that's why we can relate to this heartbreaking, yet true book. Keep writing Janice.... *Connie*
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Kathryn
I came across this book while living in Arizona, I remember picking it up because the cover reminded me of home. After reading the book, I loaned it to a friend, who loaned it to a friend, who loaned it to a friend etc.
Well, since then, I've returned to Kansas, of course with out the book, and was wondering if anyone might be able to tell me what book of poetry Ethan gave to Annette to read. The passage in the story was beautiful and left me craving more. Can anyone please help me out? Looking forward to Janice Graham's next book . . . . . Kathryn music_78_girl@hotmail.com
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Rachel Garrett
Janice Graham didn't miss a single life experience in her carefully crafted creation. The lives of her characters come to life as she interweaves the tapestry of their lives. I started this book and didn't put it down until I turned the last page. Whew!
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Leah
I love this book...I find I am having a hard time writing a review good enough to give it justice. I cried many times...this book moved me in a way no other has.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Donna Massart
I have read several books in the past that I didn't want to put down, but this book was so interesting that I did not put it down until I completed it. I was so disappointed to learn that this was her first novel. I wanted to rush to the bookstore and buy everything else she had written.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Bettye Herlocker
I just finished listening to the tape and found it to be a wonderful book. I couldn't wait to finish it and then was sad that it was finished! This author is destined to be great.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.