Reader reviews and comments on Cold Mountain, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cold Mountain

by Charles Frazier

Cold Mountain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 1997, 356 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 1998, 449 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 5
There are currently 38 reader reviews for Cold Mountain
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Charles Lee (04/26/02)

I found it a bit boring and tought it could have had more action.
Marc Lay (03/26/02)

Despite the unsupported comments of the previous ratings given, I feel Frazier accuratly depicts the hardships of the Civil War era. I highly recommend Cold Mountain as just a " good read", but I also found it to convey many themes which are great for an excellent english paper.
joe h. (03/24/02)

I would recommend this novel to gardening or cooking enthusiast. Frazier devotes 25% of this book on how to plant, grow, and harvest crops. Then, he devotes another 25% of this book on how to kill, milk,prepare,can,cook, and eat food. The other 50% of this novel tells a love story that wouldn't even interest a desparate mid-aged women who lives her love life through fictional characters.
Fraziers had a great setting (time, place, enviroment) to create a wonderful novel. But, I think he came well short of reaching this plateau. Frazier, I think, was so caught up in the setting that he forgot to write a solid story line. But, this is only my opinion. I recommend reading to anyone, even Cold Mountain. I just think there's better reading out there.
Anonymous (02/24/02)

Beautifully written, good command of the language. Frazier's telling of the story is very well done. Look forward to his second book.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Dennis
I will have to say that you should judge this book by its cover...the cover sucked, and the book sucked even more.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Jeff
I have just finished Cold Mountain and found it to be one of those rare books that truly draws one into it's world. Frazier does a magnificent job of describing daily life in the Civil War era Southern highlands as well as drawing us into what feels like a friendship with his characters. Your heart rejoices and aches with the victories and defeats in the lives of Inman and Ada as they struggle to live and love in a world torn by war and unrest. What a joy to have found one of those rare contemporary works that actually invests in the development of its characters and probes the depths of those common fears and hopes that bind us all together. An excellent, if not disturbing story.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Wendy
I thought Cold Mountain was a good book. I had to read the book as part of my English honors class. Although the ending disappointed the majority of our class, I thought that in a way, it was necessary. The ending amplified Frazier's meaning- that humanity in war is nearly impossible.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Ashley
Cold Mountain was my book club's selection for this month. And I am certainly happy with the choice. This is the best book I have read for awhile. I just finished it yesterday and have been able to think of little else. The tragedy of Inman and Ada makes my heart break. A sublimely written novel. One I will think about for years to come.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.