Reader reviews and comments on Mimi Malloy, At Last!, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mimi Malloy, At Last!

by Julia MacDonnell

Mimi Malloy, At Last!
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2014, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2015, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 25 reader reviews for Mimi Malloy, At Last!
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Dorothy T. (Victorville, CA) (02/24/14)

Memories light the corner of my mind
I was not very sympathetic toward the main character of this novel, Mimi Malloy, a reluctantly retired 60-ish divorcee with six daughters, but as the story was told, with wit and humor, I began to like her more. If nothing else this book taught me not to accept someone at face value or by a single encounter; take time to get to know and understand another person, peel back a few layers, and you may be surprised by what you find.

I cannot say that the answer to the big mystery of the book was any surprise to me, however, but watching Mimi's memories return and the effect those revelations have on her and on her relationships with her sisters and her daughters made this a worthwhile read.
Robin F. (Tucson, AZ) (02/23/14)

mimi malloy at last
This book was so enjoyable. Mimi,the central character, is fun to read about. She has family that is determined to live her life for her, in a direction she doesn't want to go.
I just finished a book called Still Alice when I started Mimi, so, at times, both books blended together. I, too, am retired, so forgetting things isn't unusual. However, this book has spirit. Having the author introduce Duffy made the book even better to read. While we learned about Mimi's life, it was also a pleasure to learn about Duffy. Mimi was lucky in many ways to have family that cared about her. I would recommend this book to my book club.
Linda P. (Rockport, ME) (02/21/14)

Mimi Malloy At Last
Julia MacDonnell's novel was entertaining enough to finish as she writes quite well, but I found the characters to be predictable, boring, and generally unlikeable, especially Mimi's daughter Cassandra. The plot and dialogue might be better suited to a TV sit-com. The publisher labels it a coming-of-age novel, but I would have been really disappointed if I'd purchased the book expecting to read a story that focuses on the psychological and moral growth of the protagonist from youth to adulthood. I'm giving it two thumbs up for humor.
Darlyne F. (Hunter, ND) (02/20/14)

Mimi MalloryAt Last
I really enjoyed this book. I loved reading about a woman my age.. This book has a little bit of everything. A mystery to solve. memories to sort out and some romance. Loved the chapters titles.
Diane W. (Lake Villa, IL) (02/19/14)

Mimi and her generation
I started this book late Sunday evening, with the intent to read only a chapter and turn out the light. I continued to read it well into the night and finished it the next evening. Originally, I sensed it was a light novel about an independent, aging woman and her family....but as I got into it more and more, the story became complex, intriguing, and both sad/happy at the same time. Mimi strongly reminded me of my mother and her large family of sisters, raised before and during the great recession years, strongly Irish and Catholic --- and their way of never speaking the family secrets and code of "denial", I guess you'd say. Though happy and historic days were sometimes briefly discussed, there was always an air of deep sadness and many unspoken stories and memories, I believe, related to grief, fear, longing, and "things that weren't discussed", consciously or unconsciously forgotten or put away. Some of this behavior continues in my generation, as well..... This is a book I will ponder and fuss about in my mind for a long time. I enjoyed it immensely, while at the same time, feel a sense of loss about family history that may now be lost and never spoken about aloud.
Dianne S. (Green Valley, AZ) (02/18/14)

A Great Book, At Last!
When I started this book I expected a story about the pitfalls of a divorced women growing old alone with a help of her interfering children. As Mimi Malloy's story unfolded I found that there was so much more.

With the help of Mimi's family and friends Mimi's memories come forth and not necessarily in a beautiful and graceful way but actually in an unvarnished and startling way. Many of the details had been long forgotten by Mimi herself or misremembered by others. The story bring forth the highs and lows of her life and the eventual coming to terms with the past and a mystery long forgotten. With this coming to terms comes a better relationship with those present in her present life.

This book is a little bit Tree Grows in Brooklyn and a touch of Angela's Ashes with bits of the Golden Girls thrown in for a bit of levity . This book will long stay with me. Mimi will be part of me always.
Debra C. (Vienna, GA) (02/17/14)

An Irish Cindrella
Although it has a fairy tale ending, Mimi's road to the dance involves more than just a palace ball. Mimi's journey, despite the dark spots of child abuse and memories lost then found, includes a functionally dysfunctional family, a Yick Yack Club, good lonely hearts, and daily Manhatten libations woven between the crooning of Frank Sinatra songs, literally snatches you in and never eases its grip until the last page.
Deborah P. (Dunnellon, FL) (02/16/14)

Mimi Malloy At Last
Julia MacDonnell's novel, Mimi Malloy At Last held me captive from the first page. I often found myself losing track of time, reading late into the night. The novel deals with issues facing an extended contemporary New England family. Many of the family's concerns will speak to Baby Boomers who have retired or are planning to retire. MacDonnell has assembled a diverse family of female characters: mothers, sisters and daughters with such detailed personalities the reader may recognize many of their traits in their own family members. The novel, while set in present day New England takes us back to Mimi's long forgotten childhood trauma, repressed as a survival instinct that will no longer be denied resolution. These lost memories are critical to Mimi's health and happiness. The people and the plot are so completely believable that at times I felt that I was reading a biography.

Mimi Malloy At Last is that perfect book to read on a cold winter afternoon or to take along on a hot summer day at the beach. Mimi Malloy At Last is a must read and has earned a place on my read again bookshelf.

Beyond the Book:
  Coming of Autumn

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.