Reader reviews and comments on The Lion in the Lei Shop, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lion in the Lei Shop

by Kaye Starbird

The Lion in the Lei Shop by Kaye Starbird X
The Lion in the Lei Shop by Kaye Starbird
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2013, 276 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 292 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for The Lion in the Lei Shop
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mary Ellen B. (Hebron, CT) (05/16/13)

Sad But True
As those who bore witness to Pearl Harbor die off, a book like this becomes even more important. It has fortuitously been reissued so that the memories of this time will not be lost. Beautifully written, it elucidates the tragic effects of the attack on a mother and her young child, and its future repercussions on them both. For adults and older teens.
Mary B. (St Paul, MN) (05/15/13)

The Lion in the Lei Shop
The novel chronicles the bombing of Pearl Harbor as seen by both a child and her mother. The story gives a heartfelt and engaging perspective of how that day impacted them and their lives as a military wife and child on the island that day, and the years that follow. The author was able to bring the events and emotions to life with her narrative. I found it hard to put down and very emotional.
Diane M. (Walden, NY) (04/24/13)

lion in the lei shop
Daughter marty is evacuated from Pearl harbor with her mother. In the aftermath she has nightmares of the lion in the lei shop who is supposed to devour happy children. This is the story of how the mother deal with their new life and facing the possibility of their soldier husband and father never coming home. This is a great book and one I'm glad I read it.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.