Reader reviews and comments on The Laws of Gravity, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Laws of Gravity

by Liz Rosenberg

The Laws of Gravity
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2013, 298 pages
    May 2013, 298 pages

  • Rate this book

Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Laws of Gravity
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tanya (05/12/13)

Brilliant food for thought
Once in a great while a novel comes along that makes you think and feel more deeply. This novel gripped me from the beginning and held me throughout. I found it un-put-downable.

There are two main plots here, but they come together seamlessly when two cousins' battles land in the court of Solomon Richter, a decent man on the verge of retirement. It is an impossible case, yet he must come to a decision. Several subplot are woven into the main drama, creating moments of humor, pathos, tragedy and poetry. The ending is one of the most surprising and beautiful novel endings I've ever read. I will be on the lookout for more books by Rosenberg.
Mark D (05/07/13)

Caught by surprise...
Many, many beautiful moments kept the story moving even though the flow felt crafted to me. That is, until the ending. Genius how profound it became. Additionally, I loved the character developments. I have already recommended to a friends bookclub.
Kristen H. (Hagerstown, MD) (05/04/13)

It's All Relative
Well written and riveting. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading more from this author. I would recommend this book to book clubs, I feel that there would be many good discussions regarding this book.
Debbie M. (Grand Junction, CO) (04/29/13)

The Laws of Gravity
The Laws of Gravity presents an interesting problem. How far would you go to help a family member? We'd all like to think we're there for family, but when actually confronted with the problem, will we be there?

It started out slow, but then became a page turner. You really want to know how it ends.
Loves to Read (Burlingame, CA) (04/22/13)

Is Blood Thicker Than Water?
If you are looking for a quick read this summer this is the book for you. This book definitely tugs at the heart-strings; you might find yourself a little teary eyed at times. Filled with family drama, this book speaks volumes on relationships between family and friends.
Dawn C. (Meridian, ID) (04/22/13)

What a wonderful book! If you are a fan of Jodi Picoult's, then you are going to love Liz Rosenberg. She has written many novels, and this one is as good as it gets. Nicole and Ari are best friends and cousins. Nicole gets very sick, is on chemo but needs stem cells that Ari had saved from their baby's birth. Should he give them to help save Nicole's life? Does Nicole have the right to ask? Very complex family situation that this author tackles very well. There is great dialogue, humor, and excellent character development. I highly recommend this to anyone with a heart! Very moving, so be sure and have your tissues handy.
Linda W. (Summit, NJ) (04/22/13)

Family and Friends
This story seesaws between two characters - Nicolle, a beautiful, young mother with a deadly disease and Solomon, a retiring Supreme Court judge - and their extended families. Both characters have a close and long term relationship with a family member and both have a dilemma weighing them down. The resolution of these dilemmas is the fodder for the story line.

Rosenberg's writing is lyrically descriptive, but her dialogue is choppy and punctuated with body language. I enjoyed the story and the book is very readable. There is no surprise at the end, but a satisfying conclusion ties up most of the loose ends. I found the intersection of new life and death with the diverse responses of various family members to be intriguing.
Kristen H. (Lowell, MA) (04/21/13)

Family Ties
Family is extremely important but how far do you go to save someone when it could mean that your child might not be able to be saved in the future? This story calls into question the issue of saved cord blood and can a court force someone to give it to save someone in their family. The characters came alive for me and there were tears in my eyes almost through the whole book so be sure to keep a box of tissues nearby.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  Sources for Stem Cells

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
    So Say the Fallen
    by Stuart Neville
    Noir crime fiction – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett anyone? – is an American invention...
  • Book Jacket: The Mothers
    The Mothers
    by Brit Bennett
    Every now and then the publishing industry gushes about a young author destined to become the next ...
  • Book Jacket
    by Tom Jackson
    Growing up in Mumbai in the '70s, I still remember herbs kept fresh in small glasses of water, ...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    North of Crazy
    by Neltje

    The remarkable life of a woman who carves her own singular path.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cruel Beautiful World
    by Caroline Leavitt

    A fast moving page-turner about the naiveté of youth and the malignity of power.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Comet Seekers
    by Helen Sedgwick

    A magical, intoxicating debut novel, both intimate and epic.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.