Reader reviews and comments on 3001, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

3001

The Final Odyssey

by Arthur C. Clarke

3001
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 1997, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 1998, 274 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for 3001
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

rob (11/04/02)

well i thought it was good book to read. i only read 2061 and 3001 but i saw the movies 2001 and 2010. thats it from me.
Michael Hickerson (06/19/02)

File under: beating a dead horse.

Arthur C. Clarke returns to the saga he created in 2001 and continued in 2010 and 2063 with this entry in the series, that is a disappointment in so many ways. Frank Poole is revived in the year 3001 (yes, that Frank Poole who apparently died in the 2001) and has some wacky adventures from there, involving the monoliths.

Clarke fails because he tries to explain the mystery behind the monoliths and destroys the awesome power that was them.

Disappointing.
José F. Barral (04/13/02)

The publication of Arthur C. Clarke's 3001: The Final Odyssey marks not only the 1997 "birthday" of HAL the computer (as given in the novel 2001, though the film had it five years earlier). It is also Clarke's eightieth year and his sixtieth as a publishing science fiction author. Only one or two other living English science fiction writers--perhaps J.G. Ballard and Brian W. Aldiss--have had a comparable impact on the field, or could lay as solid a claim to the mantle left by H.G. Wells.

3001" echoes not only the earlier novels in the series -- "2001" (1968), "2010" (1982), and "2061" (1987)--but many other Clarke tales as well. When revived astronaut Frank Poole is given a "grand tour" of the world of "3001," it calls to mind a similar travelogue in "Imperial Earth" (1975)
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.