Reader reviews and comments on All Woman and Springtime, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

All Woman and Springtime

A Novel

by Brandon W. Jones

All Woman and Springtime
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2012, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2013, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for All Woman and Springtime
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Angela S. (Hartland, MI) (03/13/12)

All Woman and Springtime
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It is a fascinating glimpse into the lives of North Koreans and also naive trusting girls who are sold into the sex slave industry. The characters were believable and really pull you into the story. This book would be great for people interested in foreign cultures, as it opened my eyes to how people from the isolated country of North Korea live and think. I could not get enough of this book and the characters. My only complaint is that the book had to end!
Power Reviewer Lani S. (Narberth, PA) (03/13/12)

Good first effort
Would I run out to tell someone to read this book? No...but was the author able to maintain a level of tension and spur one on to finish this quick read...Yes! That said, the book was good but with limitations. The beginning dragged with similes that were trite and unnecessary. The cardboard characters were not fully fleshed allowing me to not fully engage and care. Additionally, the abrupt ending wrapped up too quickly to feel a sense of completion.

One aspect I did appreciate was the author's attention to the thoughts and feelings of these sexually trafficked girls leaving N Korea and the ensuing culture shock. In my experience, this disorientation has not been addressed in similar books.

For those not well versed in reading about sexual trafficking, the contents might be graphic but indeed honest, and will open their eyes to this hidden world.
Pat M. (san antonio, TX) (03/12/12)

Will recommend to my book club members and friends
"All Woman and Springtime" grabbed by attention with the first chapter and held it to the very last chapter. This is a coming of age story, but it is so much more. It is so easy to get involved with the characters and the plot. I would love to see this on a screen and/or a sequel.

Brandon Jones - give up sculpture and guitar - just write books! I will recommend this book to my book club members and friends.
Power Reviewer Barbara O. (Maryland Heights, MO) (03/12/12)

All woman and Sprngtime
Disappointed in this author's attempt to give the reader a glimpse into life in North Korea. The plot fails to convince the reader that two orphans in a tightly controlled police state would find themselves "tricked" into breaking all the rules and being sold as sex slaves. I wasn't convinced of the authenticity of the female characters. Overall the story felt contrived.
Rhonda M. (Concord, OH) (03/11/12)

An eye opening book
All Woman and Springtime caught me in the first 10 pages. After that it's hard to put down. What a wonderful new writer. As I read this book I became totally absorbed in the mind-numbing journey of Gi and her friends. North Korea is not a place written about very often so I felt as if I myself had stepped behind the curtain of North Korea. And even knowing that the events in the book really do happen I felt it all as if I was one of the girls. Brandon Jones manages to capture their emotions brilliantly so that I felt devastated when they were and buoyant when they were. And as every page was read I started reaching towards the end and praying that the end would be what I wanted it to be. Thank you Mr. Jones for bringing this world to me and opening my eyes to it.
Rachel D. (Leominster, MA) (03/09/12)

All Woman and Springtime
This book brought me to the brink of tears many times. The green monster "Greed" reared it's ugly head and the innocent young girls were forced to live a life of hell on earth. The things that human beings do to one another is shocking. I will remember this book long after it's put back on the shelf.
Power Reviewer Madeline Mora-Summonte (Florida) (03/06/12)

All Woman and Springtime
By the end of the first page, we are fully in Gi's world, drawn in by strong language and powerful descriptions that elevate, never disguise, the actual story. Every character is complex and complicated, and our hearts ache, break and race for these girls.

This is not an easy story to read. It is moving and gut-wrenching, and at first glance, it seems there is no hope. But it turns out there is hope, and strength, in perhaps the least likely of people.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  Human Trafficking in North Korea

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.