Reader reviews and comments on The Beauty of Humanity Movement, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Beauty of Humanity Movement

A Novel

by Camilla Gibb

The Beauty of Humanity Movement
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2011, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Beauty of Humanity Movement
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Wendy F. (Kalamazoo, MI) (12/13/10)

Beauty of Humanity Movement
An interesting look at post-war Vietnam and the perils of living in a Communist country. It is difficult to imagine not being able to express yourself artistically due to the laws of the land however that is what many experienced in Vietnam during war time and beyond. This is an intimate portrait of those who survived the war and their descendants and what they must endure as artists. Character development was a little weak and I had a hard time distinguishing between them in the beginning. Old Man Hung is able to show his own creativity through his meticulously made pho where others have had to express themselves by going underground. His passion for other's work is shown through his memories. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it, especially to those who are blessed to live in our country and can freely communicate through their art without fear of reprisals.
Theresa R. (Sierra Madre, CA) (12/13/10)

Decent Book
I thought this book was ok. Although I really liked the author's writing style and the way she brought her characters to life, I found the book a little slow in the beginning and found it hard to get into. Even though I I thought the story as a whole was just okay, I found myself caring for each and every one of the characters, which can only be credited to the author's ability to make them so real.

I think that I would definitely recommend this as a book club choice because there are A LOT of different topics this book touches on that would make for great discussions.
Mary B. (St Paul, MN) (12/09/10)

The Beauty of Humanity Movement
This was a very moving book. The story touches on the effects of war, political upheaval, repression and poverty, which might be difficult for some to read. It also touches on love and survival. It was both haunting and hopeful. I would highly recommend the book.
Linda G. (Walnut Creek, CA) (12/07/10)

From Ethiopia, to Vietnam; Gibb Writes of Different Cultures
Having been a huge fan of Camilla Gibb's previous book, "Sweetness In the Belly", I expected to immediately be swept up with her new one. I was slightly disappointed that it wasn't to happen right away in this book, but very much rewarded as she slowly wove her magic, unveiling an exquisite story of contemporary Vietnam, particularly her tying in of its art and literature. The main character, Old Man Hung, is a private, yet charming man who creates his own magic with his secret recipe for pho, an aromatic beef noodle soup that makes him sought after in the nearby towns. Among some of his frequent customers are a woman who is Vietnamese from the US in search of her artist father, and a young man named Tu, who is an enterprising tour guide that she enlists to show her around.
These characters, as well as others in the story, are very likable, and the author does a wonderful job in her descriptions of the foods, smells, the poverty, as well as the beauty of the land and the art. A lovely and gripping novel.
Trezeline B. (Columbia, MD) (12/06/10)

The Beauty of Humanity Movement
Camilla Gibb has created a love story, a history, and a biography which takes place in Viet Nam. This book contains so much of an education, yet it is delivered in a beautiful and interesting manor. I enjoyed this book and have been inspired to find out more of the history of Viet Nam both yesterday and today.
Susan B. (Rutledge, MO) (12/01/10)

Vivid, compelling, recommended
I found this a compelling, very well-written book that touches on many issues and ideas: Vietnam and Vietnamese history, culture and society; family; art and politics; how cultures and traditions shift in the face of history; “outsider” perspectives on America and Americans; food and cooking; and love and relationships. I've been to Hanoi, where the book takes place, once, for only a single week, but found her descriptions so accurate that I assumed her cultural and historical perceptions must be as well. Highly recommended.
Power Reviewer Doris K. (Angora, MN) (11/29/10)

The Beauty of Humanity Movement
I enjoyed reading this book. The Vietnamese characters were skillfully brought to life by the author. A good job was done showing contemporary Vietnamese life while reviewing much of the history of this country. In America we don't know the story of the North Vietnamese people. This book brings out the problems and delights of their culture. By seeing North Vietnam through the eyes of a woman who is Vietnamese by birth but spent much of her life in America we can relate to many of her impressions.
This book would be good for discussions in a book club.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  Pho : A Vietnamese Delicacy

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.