Reader reviews and comments on The Paris Wife, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Paris Wife

A Novel

by Paula McLain

The Paris Wife
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2012, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Paris Wife
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Bea C. (Liberty Lake, WA) (12/03/10)

Early Hemingway: Behind The Scenes
The first part of this book (about 130 pages) is about the courtship and first years of marriage of Hemingway and his first wife, before he became a known writer, and I found it kind of boring. Then I got to part where she takes all of his original manuscripts with her on a trip to meet him somewhere in Europe, then finds the valise, in which she has placed the sum total of his writing to that point, is missing. It is such a shocking moment that it jolted my interest to keep reading just to find out if she finds it. This book gives a behind the scenes view of Hemingway's life while he was writing some of his early books, and the reality was surprisingly close to the fictional books. It made me want to read his books that I missed and re-read the ones I read so long ago. I would recommend this book to Hemingway lovers.
Marion T. (Palatine, IL) (12/02/10)

The Paris Wife
I really enjoyed reading this book. Paris in the 20's with all the noteworthy friends of Hadley & Earnest came to life. A different time and different life. This book reminded me of "Loving Frank" in the way it told the story of the first wives of important people of the time. I will recommend this for my book clubs.
Mary S. (Pinson, AL) (12/02/10)

The Paris Wife
I loved reading this novel about the courtship and marriage of Hemmingway to his first wife, Hadley, as told through Hadley’s eyes. Paris in the twenties was an exciting time and Ernest and Hadley’s literary friendships with Ezra Pound, Gertrude Stein and F. Scott Fitzgerald make this a very interesting story. My only knowledge of Hemmingway until now has been required reading; For Whom the Bell Tolls, The Sun Also Rises, and A Farewell to Arms, but after Paula McLain’s novel I want to read A Moveable Feast, Hemmingway's memoirs of this time.
Leann A. (Springfield, IL) (11/29/10)

The Paris Wife
I liked this book, but I didn't love it. Something was missing. The facts were there, but I never quite connected with the main character, Hadley. I did, however, enjoy reading about "The Lost Generation"--American Expats in 1920s Paris. That alone was worth the read.
AzKate (Glendale, AZ) (11/29/10)

The Paris Wife
While I liked the book, I didn't LOVE the book. To me the characters were flat and stiff with the exception of Ernest who came away as a most selfish man. I felt deeply sorry for Hadley and her life with Hemingway.
Jill S. (Chicago, IL) (11/22/10)

Mesmerizing Inner Look at Hemingway's First Marriage
Before Earnest Hemingway was ERNEST HEMINGWAY -- one of the most revered, studies, analyzed and parodied authors of American literature -- he was a young man with a burning talent, staking his claim to a bright future. And part of this future included Hadley Richardson, his first wife, a woman who was his equal in many ways -- a risk-taker, adventurer, copious drinker. Paula McLain sympathetically captures her voice in this highly addictive, page-turning debut. She pushes deep in to the lives of her characters while remaining true to the facts. I found this to be a fascinating book, which has compelled me to re-read Hemingway's Moveable Feast (which also examines those years). Recommended highly for any Hemingway fan or anyone who is seeking an in-depth look at a complicated marriage in the 1920s.
Marie (11/15/10)

Great portrait of the young Hemingay
This book is a great companion to A PORTRAIT OF HEMINGWAY AS A YOUNG MAN, Jerome Tuccille’s hilarious parody of Hemingway and Hadley during the same period, Paris in the 1920s. Cry over Paula McLain’s novel, and then enjoy a few laughs with Tuccille’s spoof of Hemingway.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Beyond the Book:
  Hemingway's Leading Ladies

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.