Reader reviews and comments on Yellow Dirt, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Yellow Dirt

An American Story of a Poisoned Land and a People Betrayed

by Judy Pasternak

Yellow Dirt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Yellow Dirt
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tammy Morales (02/05/13)

I never knew and I lived in the outskirts Gallop, NM a short while.
When I read this book. It haunted me about the short time I resided there among some of the proudest people I've ever came across. Now I know why the chief kept pointing at a particular area and called the mountains, ' Fire Mountain.' I stayed with a Navajo family at the time and remember the people around there were poor and talk about cancer was looming in the community. I saw a little girl there with her hands that resembled claws and she could barely walk. I read this book and realized I was there and experienced the pain and anguish in the mothers eyes as her daughter laid wasting away from cancer and her deformities. It broke my heart. Kudos to the author for bringing this tragedy out in the open. The government and big greedy corporate jerks need to be held highly accountable for such atrocities. I stayed there in 1978 and to think my youngest child's deformity may be directly related to that exposure. His fingers on his left hand were fused together at birth... That made me think of that little girl. What other atrocities have the government covered up? Thank you Judy for having the courage to step up and expose those involved. A great book. Hopefully she can expose the real truth behind the Nevada Test Site. Many poor people were harmed behind all those nuclear tests bombs and are also fighting the government today. So many other covered up stories out there and many people are dying from lies and blatant cover ups today. Our planet is slowly becoming a toxic wasteland. It's only a matter of time before most of the life on this planet dwindles to yellow dirt and we all turn into yellow dust.
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  The Navajo Nation

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.