Reader reviews and comments on Yellow Dirt, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Yellow Dirt

An American Story of a Poisoned Land and a People Betrayed

by Judy Pasternak

Yellow Dirt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2010, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2011, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Stacey Brownlie

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Yellow Dirt
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tammy Morales (02/05/13)

I never knew and I lived in the outskirts Gallop, NM a short while.
When I read this book. It haunted me about the short time I resided there among some of the proudest people I've ever came across. Now I know why the chief kept pointing at a particular area and called the mountains, ' Fire Mountain.' I stayed with a Navajo family at the time and remember the people around there were poor and talk about cancer was looming in the community. I saw a little girl there with her hands that resembled claws and she could barely walk. I read this book and realized I was there and experienced the pain and anguish in the mothers eyes as her daughter laid wasting away from cancer and her deformities. It broke my heart. Kudos to the author for bringing this tragedy out in the open. The government and big greedy corporate jerks need to be held highly accountable for such atrocities. I stayed there in 1978 and to think my youngest child's deformity may be directly related to that exposure. His fingers on his left hand were fused together at birth... That made me think of that little girl. What other atrocities have the government covered up? Thank you Judy for having the courage to step up and expose those involved. A great book. Hopefully she can expose the real truth behind the Nevada Test Site. Many poor people were harmed behind all those nuclear tests bombs and are also fighting the government today. So many other covered up stories out there and many people are dying from lies and blatant cover ups today. Our planet is slowly becoming a toxic wasteland. It's only a matter of time before most of the life on this planet dwindles to yellow dirt and we all turn into yellow dust.
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  The Navajo Nation

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.