Reader reviews and comments on The Wives of Henry Oades, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wives of Henry Oades

A Novel

by Johanna Moran

The Wives of Henry Oades
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Feb 2010, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 31 reader reviews for The Wives of Henry Oades
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Betsy R. (Gig Harbor, WA) (01/15/10)

Great book
I really loved this book. It is a unique blend of drama and historical research, which is incorporated well into the story. The women characters are particularly well-developed. I plan to recommend it to my book club when it is out in March.
Vy A. (Phoenix, (12/28/09)

The Wives of Henry Oades
Based on a true story, taking place at the turn of the 20th Century in New Zealand and San Francisco, this book was difficult for me to put down because of the compelling characters and descriptive writing style, as well as an unbelievable series of horrific events which occur to a loving family. It proves that truth is indeed stranger than fiction. For example, what would you do if the wife and children of the man you married showed up on the doorstep, years after all thought they were dead? How this situation plays out keeps the reader turning the pages and the result is a testimonial to the power of love and to the compassion of two extraordinary women. I recommend it highly.
Kat F. (Palatine, IL) (12/27/09)

Pleasant surprise after all
The reason I asked to review this book was because the description was so intriguing. Then I received the book and based on the cover alone, thought I was in for a big disappointment. Turns out I was wrong. This is a great first novel. Taking historical facts, the author wrote a riveting novel from the perspective of both wives. I couldn’t stop reading it. Although the ending was a bit flat and abrupt, overall I greatly enjoyed this book and will recommend it to others. Maybe the cover art could be changed?
Marta M. (Tustin, CA) (12/22/09)

An enjoyable read
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is a historical novel based on a true court case in California at the turn of the twentieth century. Many of the reviewers said that they wanted more fleshed out characters. I had to keep reminding myself that in those days people didn't express their emotions as much as they do today. That they accepted what happened to them, and much of what they did do was to please society. They made the best of every situation and didn't feel as sorry for themselves as we do today. This is evident by Margaret's acceptance of the situation. In today's world one of the wives would have been divorced, but in those days that would have made the children illegitimate. That would mean that they may not be employed or have opportunities in later life. That makes a good reason not to have either marriage annulled. It made me feel fortunate to be living now. Nowadays, this would have made front page news and they all would have had family counseling. They would have been interviewed by Oprah and there would be outpouring of support. I really enjoyed reading this book and will recommend it to all of my friends.
Laura K. (Middletown, NJ) (12/22/09)

The Wives of Henry Oades
Very good historical fiction! The storyline and characters are well developed. I would recommend this book, especially for book groups. The moral quandary Henry, Nacy and Margaret find themselves in would surely elicit an interesting group discussion.
Pamela F. (Grants Pass, OR) (12/19/09)

The Wives of Henry Oades
I love historical fiction. So this was a good book in my opinion. The characters were interesting, the plot is not something that I would normally come across, and although at the beginning I had a little trouble getting into it...it grabbed me and I wanted to find out how it ended. I would definitely recommend it.
Power Reviewer Nikki M. (Fort Wayne, IN) (12/17/09)

Engrossing fiction based on fact!
This was an incredible story based on true events. The relationship that develops between the two Mrs. Oades is most unusual, yet compelling. This is definitely worth reading.
Irene M. (Ashland, OR) (12/15/09)

The Two Wives of Henry Oades
This was a very enjoyable book. The prose was simple, but well-written. I especially liked the fact that it was based on a true story. The characters were well-developed and I certainly could relate to the feelings and responses of the three main characters. I look forward to more books by this author.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.