Reader reviews and comments on A Pearl in the Storm, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Pearl in the Storm

How I Found My Heart in the Middle of the Ocean

by Tori Murden McClure

A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure X
A Pearl in the Storm by Tori Murden McClure
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for A Pearl in the Storm
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sheryl (04/19/09)

VERY well-written, but. . . .
This book, about the author's attempt to row across the Atlantic in a 23 ft. rowboat, is full of compelling and technically brilliant writing. Her descriptive paragraphs of the actual voyage itself are interwoven with snippets of her history and the events that led her to undertake the adventure. She attempts to plumb her experiences on the sea for insight into herself, and describes an epiphany during a hurricane, but seems to fall short of making us believe she really makes peace with herself and her life.

She is dismissing and scornful of the central and deeply personal question for all adventurers like herself: WHY? At times, the reluctance to confront and attempt to answer that question seemed self-defeating and grandiose. Still, none of this stopped me from becoming totally engrossed in her story. The writing is so well done that I actually felt I was in the boat with her at times. Well worth the time and thought!
Theresa (04/19/09)

Somewhat inspirational Pearl
This book is full of amazing tales of personal determination and perseverance. I marveled at the author's ability to take on challenges for her own fulfillment/redemption. I believe my only reservations come from my general skepticism of memoirs lately (after the Frey episode and others). I would have liked to do some of my own fact checking, but will have to wait until I have more time. For now, I'll say, it is a good and sometimes inspirational read. An interesting life, indeed.
Kathy (04/19/09)

Wow
I enjoyed this book very much and was always sad when I had to put it down. I enjoyed how she weaved her life story in between the days of rowing. It did not go too long on either the rowing or about her family. Her descriptions while in the boat of the water, storms, brilliant stars, and sea life are very vivid. I recommend this book very highly.
Lisa (04/14/09)

A force to be reckoned with
I knew I would love this book from page one. How could I not? The book's first line reads, "Let's face it: normal, well-adjusted women don't row alone across oceans." This memoir held no surprise as to the final outcome of the quest, as the cover indicates the author was the first woman to row alone across an ocean. (This was the second indicator that this was to be a delicious read.)

You'll discover her motivation to take on this challenge through flashbacks to Tori's childhood. The times where she is compelled to defend her younger handicapped brother are heart breaking. When reading this book you will come to know the author as a force to be reckoned with; she earned degrees from Smith College and Harvard's Divinity School, has completed wilderness training in Alaska, and skied hundreds of miles to be one of two women reaching the South Pole. She built her boat, the American Pearl, and earned a law degree as well as making her two trans-oceanic voyages. I finished the book thinking there is nothing Tori Murden McClure cannot do.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.