Reader reviews and comments on Brooklyn Bridge, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Brooklyn Bridge

by Karen Hesse

Brooklyn Bridge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2008, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for Brooklyn Bridge
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Laura tanton (05/11/16)

Brooklyn Bridge at it's best!
Listened to "Brooklyn Bridge" on audiobook CDs with my 12 year-old son. Very well written, and the narrator was FABULOUS. Love that it is based on a historical theme (and would love to know if the entire story is historically accurate). Great read about the "birth" of the teddy bear & the story of the family behind it. Note: the audio book listed suggested age of audience as 5-9, which seems younger than appropriate (given vocabulary & story details). I enjoyed it immensely (at 50), as did my son.
So glad we found this audiobook at our library!!
Kimmy (11/27/12)

An egaging book that makes you think.
I liked the book but found it hard to keep up with everything that happened. I was a good read but I would not have chosen it if it weren't for a Language Arts project.
Quin (08/05/12)

Brooklyn Bridge
This was like the most inspiring book I have ever read, and I am the kind of person who reads 20 books a day and non of them inspire me this much. Definitely best book ever!3
Save (12/03/10)

Best Book Ever!!!!!
This is by far the most clever yet touching book I've read so far and I've read 914 books. A lot don't you think and I'm only 11. This book is about a 14 year old boy who's parents started making teddy bears and his sister makes her own library in the same store.

This book is touching yet real in every way. I would recommend reading his book if you haven't already read it. Remember its the BEST BOOK EVER!
Bella (09/01/10)

A fine example of what historical fiction should be-deep, fun, and thought-provoking
I'm a ten year old girl who recently read this book. It was a deep, yet fun confection about growing up in the early 1900's, the time where New York was spilling with immigrants and Coney Island was at its prime. It prompted me to read online and ask relatives about the old Coney Island. Now especially, this book got me thinking because of the new Luna Park. I hope someday the old Coney Island feel will return and Coney Island will be restored. Because from what this book says, the old Coney Island was great fun.
Jamila Ouadghiri (12/26/08)

Brooklyn Bridge
I am a very lucky reader because I am the first to read the book, Brooklyn Bridge by Karen Hesse, one of my favorite authors. This story teaches a person about the true meaning of how some people really live. The main character, Joseph Michtom, is always straightforward throughout the whole book. I use the word beautiful when describing the works of fiction because its a difficult term to justify. But this book is beautiful. Beautiful, weird, and real in a way that will touch you. If an author writes such a good book like this, while on a vacation, I urge every writer to take an extended vacation pronto!
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.