Reader reviews and comments on A Child Called It, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Child Called It

One Child's Courage to Survive

by Dave Pelzer

A Child Called It
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 184 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 1995, 184 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 12 of 34
There are currently 266 reader reviews for A Child Called It
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Shaquana Ambroise (04/06/10)

A Child Called It
I am 17 and I read A Child Called It for my Psychology class. My mom had already read the book and told me how sad it was so I had thought I was prepared. Truth is nothing can prepare you for the happenings in this book. It's astounding to think that these things actually happened. I have the utmost respect for Dave Pelzer for getting through this and having the courage to put his story out there.
airhead (03/09/10)

as read
I'm 13 and I read this book and afterwards I felt guilty, and glad because I'm feeling guilty because how bad he had it and how good I have it and I am glad because I have the best life I could imagine and he didn't have that.. Dave go on writing more books..
Taylor (03/05/10)

child abuse
I think that child abuse can come to killing a child and that child abuse is more than bruises and broken bones. Abuse is one type of child abuse. Kids all over the world is getting abused by other people and family.
Christelle Bastien (02/28/10)

A Child Called It
I think this story is a great story and a sad story because Dave Pelzer is beaten and starved by his mother who is an alcoholic. She played dangerous games with her son and he had to learn how to play his mother's games in order to survive. Also, I think this is not fair because no one should be treated like a slave by their very own mother. His mother also made him sleep in the basement on an old army cot and his clothes were torn and raunchy. When he grew up, he became a leader, not an alcoholic like his mother otherwise, but he learned not to make the same mistakes that his mother made when he was a child.
Nelly (02/16/10)

Truth
I don't often read books about child abuse, until my older brother suggested I read this book. And now that I have read it, it made me realize how fortunate some of us are. Yet, we take it for granted. This book took my emotions to a whole new level. It was very detailed out to put the reader in his position, and the way felt. I know this wasn't the easiest thing to write for him, but I would like to thank him. I guess you can say he is right, No matter what you mother does or say, she'll always be your mom. And you love her no matter what happens.
Ry&n Sp&ngler (02/12/10)

Through a journey of heartache, God will be there.
I'm taking a high school class called Parenting and Child Development and we are studying the horrors of child abuse. Ever since my teacher first assigned me this book about two days ago, I can not put it down. This is a heart felt book that displays the horrors of child abuse and the internal and external affect that child abuse can have on a child or anyone of age. For Dave P. the author of this wonderful book he lived this life. I'm on the fourth chapter, (the longest chapter)!!! I love how Dave brings God into the picture, in "Lords Prayer", that I have not got to yet. Daves brothers wanted to help him but his mother was to controlling and they did not want to get it from mother to. When it was said in chapter three "Bad Boy", that brother and I played at school like best friends but at home I could not be acknowledged, that really got to me. In chapter two, "Good Times", I really liked to hear the tone change and I could imagine in my head how they played together and how they had pinics and the good times they shared. So, know I got ot go finish the book and write a report on it, see yah!!!
zoie (01/27/10)

a child called it
This book was very good. It is about a child who is abused and tortured by his cruel mother. It brings tears to your eyes and touches your heart.
Gabbey (01/26/10)

Couldn't stop reading
When i first started this book I just couldn't put it down. It was so sad but so interesting I just had to read more, this book brought to my attention a very serious issue in this world.... abuse. It tells the heartbreaking story of a abused man who's life turned out pretty good. I LOVED it.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.