Reader reviews and comments on Tethered, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tethered

A Novel

by Amy Mackinnon

Tethered
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 reader reviews for Tethered
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

s.e.f.king (02/17/10)

tethered
I started this book two days ago, and the housework is building up. I've come on line in the hope of finding that the Author has published another book as mesmerizing as this cold, sometimes cruel, spiritually uplifting journey. The story is so good I can't wait to finish it while hoping it will go on for a little while yet!
Dakayla (10/15/08)

I Love Amy MacKinnon!
Amy Mackinnon rules!!! This book is amazing and deep. Amy is smart,funny, and very caring person!This book is the best book ever written!!!! If I had a say what to read between a well experienced writer or Amy MacKinnon, I would choose this! Amy I can't wait for your next book!!!!
Jeanne (08/11/08)

Tethered
This book grabbed me from the very beginning. All of the characters were real, filled with their own unique hopes and flaws. Every part of Clara's life is written thoroughly and believably. It is the characters that stand out in this book, more than the mystery itself, right through to the satisfying ending.
Tanya (08/11/08)

Tethered
From the start of this book I was drawn in by Mackinnon's vivid language and her ability to make it easy to feel a part of Clara's world.... and then the disturbing undertow of the story, the crimes committed.... were not really what I expected of this novel. There were scenes in which I was easily brought to tears, and then moments when I felt hope with the direction the story was going. Mackinnon addresses real-life issues and hurts. This is not a happy, uplifting story, if that's the direction your book club is leaning towards. But an intriguing read, nonetheless, it has more softened curves and reminded me of Mystic River, by Dennis Lehane.
Patricia (08/11/08)

Tethered
One of the most amazing books I have ever read. Not a true mystery in the ordinary sense of the experience but a book I read from cover to cover in one sitting. The writing is so vivid and intense that it is difficult not to be emotionally moved by the story.

The story is a not the common theme where the mystery is inevitably solved and the bad guys receive their due. The setting is unusual while there is an intimacy with the main character explored in such extraordinary richness that like Clara, the reader must breathe (one-two-three).

Not for everyone but for those who wish to experience an amazing and extraordinary few hours.
E S (08/11/08)

Tethered Keeps Readers Roped In
Well paced mystery that keeps the reader page turning despite the creepiness of protagonist's career. The author does a great job of portraying main characters as persons damaged by their past who nevertheless work hard to act morally. The author is particularly adept at accurately portraying children and adult survivors of child abuse. She is also especially sensitive to the needs of these "victims" to become the hero of their own story by seeking the healing waters of forgiveness.

Whether or not Trecie is real or imagined, alive or ghost is the true mystery here--rather than "who-done-it". Amy Mackinnon does a good job of letting the reader in on the ambiguity early without revealing the answer until the end.

A good read, excellent choice for book club members as it would provide many areas for discussion: issues of child abuse and police/state reaction, necessary role of healing rather than removal as the answer, worthiness of "damaged" persons, existence of ghosts and persons who communicate with the dead.
Connie (08/11/08)

Tethered
Clara hides herself in her work as a mortician and is afraid to let people get too close to her, even to the point of hindering a child pornography investigation. Can Clara, who had an abusive and unloved beginning to life, allow herself to let go of that past and trust the man who wants to love and protect her? Only the reader can decide for him - or herself. So many unanswered questions that leave the reader to come to his/her own conclusions. Suspenseful at moments, but too many dry spots along the way.
Lynda (08/11/08)

Love, Beauty, Salvation from a very unlikely setting.
Ms. MacKinnon's narrator and main character, Clara, is most comfortable with the corpses that she lovingly prepares for burial. She has no friends, other than the undertaker with whom she works - and her flowers, which seem to blossom miraculously for Clara.

Being immersed in Clara's thoughts is learning how an extremely depressed and lonely young woman thinks. Yet, a glimmer of hope lies beneath the Gothic setting and compelled this reader to devour this mystery.

The characters are real and complete. The settings are vivid, though mostly seen through shadows and mist. The reader wants to help Clara solve this dark mystery and bloom as a fulfilled woman, like her garden.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    In the Country of Men
    by Hisham Matar
    Labeled by some as the "Libyan Kite Runner", In The Country of Men does share some ...
  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.