Reader reviews and comments on A Man Named Dave, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man Named Dave

A Story of Triumph and Foregiveness

by Dave Pelzer

A Man Named Dave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 284 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 13 of 36
There are currently 282 reader reviews for A Man Named Dave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tiffany (06/09/03)

The book was good.... I just feel so bad for him... God bless you dave
KRISS S. (05/29/03)

I THOUGHT THAY ALL OF DAVE PELZER BOOKS WERE GREAT I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN ,I FINISHED A CHILD CALLED IT THE FIRST DAY THAY I HAD GOTTEN IT NOW I AM ABOUT TO GET ALL OF HIS BOOKS .THAT BOOK IS THE #1 MOST LIFE TOUCHING STORY THAT I EVER READ IT WAS SO SAD HOW HE WENT THROUGH ALL OF THAT AND STILL SURVIVED.GOD BLESS YOU DAVE AND YOUR FAMILY.
Jennifer Ellis (05/16/03)

iIreally liked all three of these books they were great. I"m just sorry for what Dave had to go through.
BILLIE JO (05/15/03)

I THOUGHT THE BOOK WAS AMAZING IT WAS LIFE CHANGING I NEVER THINK THAT I GET TREATED BAD I GET TREATED GREAT COPARED TO HIM
Brian (05/04/03)

This is one of the most insipring most toughing books I have ever read. This is an amazing book, but it is sad how he was treated. Dave's writing is excellent. I liked this book so much I had to but myself a copy!!!
Emily (05/01/03)

Dave Pelzer gives you hope! He shows you that your life is not so hard. He shows you that you never should give up and always stay close to god becuase in the end he will be the only one there for you!
Jennifer Litecky (04/23/03)

Dear Dave~
I thought your books are very inspiring. It is hard to belive one can have a good heart, including a forgiving one. You show true forgiveness, and true compassion. You amaze me, and many others. I congratulate you for stoping the cycle, and to prove that good things can come out of bad situations. I am gald that you are able to share your stories with the rest of the world. Thanks for inspiring me!
Jennifer Litecky
Serena Carter (04/22/03)

Hello Dave.. You are a true blessing and you inspire me to go on with life im in foster-care im 17 years of age almost 18 in september.ive been in care four 15 years going on 16. i kn ow how it feels to get beat and abuse i was kin d of in the same position as you. my foster mother ran over me with her car she tried to poison me and when i read your story it made me cry.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.