Reader reviews and comments on A Man Named Dave, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Man Named Dave

A Story of Triumph and Foregiveness

by Dave Pelzer

A Man Named Dave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 1999, 284 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2000, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 11 of 36
There are currently 282 reader reviews for A Man Named Dave
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

R.D. (10/27/03)

I was stunned, so stunned after reading all of your books. These compeling books open my eyes to the truth of child abuse. All I can say more is thank you Dave for your courage to relive the memories to write this ever-so tragic book because of what you've wrtten inspired me to become an activist. I am also 12 years old.
JAYE CLAYTON (09/30/03)

Hi, I thought this book was a great conclusion to the other two, but would be interested in Dave's life now as well. I am 28 and have read many a book since leaving school but none have ever touched me as much as this trilogy. Maybe because I have three children of my own, and could never think of hurting mine as his mother did him. Am so glad there are people out there that do try their best for these unfortunate children. All in all, three sad but great eye opening accounts of wickedness and triumph.
Dora Parada (09/29/03)

This book was one of the best books that I ever read. I feel sad that you David went thru suffering moments in your life. Keep your head up...I hear you.. you doing a great job. I'm 14 yrs old and I loved this book.
Katie Johnson (09/27/03)

This book was great. I loved it. It was easy to read and comperhend. This also reminded me of my life.
April Henry (09/25/03)


My cousin sister gave me the book, the moment I was reading I couldn't put the book down.I read it in one day. And I'm 15 years old. It was very sad and painful for u. keep your head up Dave Pelzer!
krystil (09/16/03)

i just got this book from the library for a book report and so far i think it is great and i feel really bad for what happen to him!!!!
Bonnie (09/03/03)

"Mother then ordered me to climb up on to the stove and lie on the flames so she could watch me burn."
i'm only 12 years old but after reading this book i was really touched, i'v always wanted to be a concillor but this makes me wanna work harder for it. After only reading about 10 pages was in tears, i was so hooked to these books i pushed myself to finish reading The boy called "It" and i read from 9 o'clock that night to 1o'clock that morning, on a school day. i cried so much sometime because i couldn't believe how cruel people can be and other times because this were finally going on track for once. God bless you, you've made me wanna be a foster parent when i'm old enough.
Amy (09/01/03)

I've never been so moved by a story as I was when I read the "A Child called It" series. I am only 15 and this book taught me how much I have truly taken advantage of in my short life. I already know when I grow up that I want to be a foster parent and hopefully be able to help children in the same way David was helped by his foster parents.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.