Reader reviews and comments on The Good Thief, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Good Thief

A Novel

by Hannah Tinti

The Good Thief
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2008, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 23 reader reviews for The Good Thief
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Roberta (07/31/08)

Formulaic and Predictable Ending
Hannah Tinti has a wonderfully descriptive writing style. She gets her point across without excess and gives you a feel for her main character's thought processes. However, I felt that near the end the storyline simply was too predictable with a pat ending. I definitely enjoyed the book for the most part because her characters were interesting, but I was disappointed because the author seemed to run out of options for her storyline and simply chose the easy and predictable way out. This was a book that at points I didn't want to put down, but at others I could have simply walked away from it because I could tell what was coming.
Vicky (07/31/08)

The
The characters here are interesting but I never truly connected with any of them. The story includes the requisite "bad guy" whom I must admit transcends your normal criminal as he possesses no conscience at all. The main character is noteworthy and the other players are certainly the products of the authors creative imagination; however, though the book pulls you along toward a sense of compassion, it was hard for me to care about any of the characters. I don't feel I wasted my time reading this novel, it just isn't one of my favorites.
Erika (07/31/08)

The Good Thief
Warm, sensitive, multi-layered characters. Human & real but the plot drags.
Barbara (07/31/08)

The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti
This story didn’t live up to its press. The blurbs on the cover, even the description here on BookBrowse, were all better than the reality. The characters didn’t seem plausible, the story wound up too tidily to be believable. There were elements that seemed tossed in and didn’t seem to serve any real purpose. Without giving away the plot, there was a character towards the end who was particularly unbelievable. He was demanding answers from a child who had absolutely no way to know the answers. Demanding, as in threatening to kill the child if he didn’t give the answer. Perhaps that was meant to show the man was mentally ill but it just came off as if the writer didn’t have another way to get the story along.

I’m sorry to say that The Good Thief is a book that I neither liked nor disliked. It was just okay.
Power Reviewer Nikki (07/31/08)

Two thumbs up!
If you want to remember how it was to pick up a book and read for the sheer pleasure of reading, then read this book! So many novels try to incorporate heavy-handed political agendas or eco-views into the plotline and the story gets bogged down. It was so refreshing to read a great story without all of the "underlying messages". I thoroughly enjoyed The Good Thief and I think you will too!
Power Reviewer Cam (07/31/08)

The Good Thief
Oh, wow, The Good Thief is one good book!

Written somewhat in the manner of a Charles Dickens, Tinti writes beautifully with characters, Ren in particular, who wend their way into your hearts.

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a really good read!
Michelle (07/31/08)

Dickenesque
I was thrilled to find this book took me back to the fairy tales & Grimms Brothers tales of my youth. The characters were wonderful & the tale kept you hooked & waiting to see what happened next! It is fun & easy with all the right light & shadows you need for a story that takes you back in time!
Randi (07/31/08)

Harrowing adventure, great fun!
What a fun read!

After leaving the orphanage, Ren's life is jam-packed with adventures. Hannah Tinti is adept at continuously throwing perils and quandaries and surprises Ren's (and the lucky reader's) way, without getting ridiculous. Her characters are all interesting, whether diabolical or endearing. This story has been compared to Dickens-like tales, and it does create a similar mood, without the heaviness.

This is a taut tale, with lots of action, and no wasted words.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.