Reader reviews and comments on The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

by E Lockhart

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2008, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2009, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jo Perry

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Amanda (06/28/10)

Disreputably Good
This book is about a girl, Frankie, who is trying to find her place in the world. Everyone sees her, as she explains in the book, their cute, innocent, little “Bunny Rabbit” and so Frankie sets out to prove that she is not “innocent, in need of protection, and inconsequential.” She is starting out her sophomore year with this new attitude.

Soon, Frankie finds herself tangled up with her Prep School’s secret boy club, the Basset Hounds. In her attempt to prove her worth she secretly controls the Basset Hounds pranks, by pretending she is the Alpha male. She puts an unorganized set of boys in line, as she tells them exactly what to do. She is the criminal mastermind behind what students are calling the best pranks ever.

This book is full of playing tricks and getting away with them. Frankie is someone we can all relate to. She has been pushed and pushed and now she is going to start shoving back. I think we can all relate to just such an instance in our own lives. The story is told as if someone were recalling it to their child or friends. I quite enjoyed this style of writing as it put all the important information right on the table. There was also quite a bit of satirical humor which carried you through the book.

Overall, the book was very empowering as you followed Frankie through her journey from “Bunny Rabbit” to someone worth respecting. I appreciated that it was never inappropriate and there was no use of language. However, the ending was a little weak .... but it was partially made up for with the personal change Frankie underwent.

By the end you couldn’t help but feel proud of Frankie and the fact that she didn’t care that the popular kids weren’t her friends anymore because she found her own power. That is something I think every young girl is looking for and hopes to find.

This book really made me think and wish to become better than I am. That is what good literature should do. I was able to finish this book in 5 hours and just couldn’t put it down! I would suggest this book to any young teenage girl looking for her own inner power.
lina pal (10/11/09)

The disreputable history of frankie landau-banks
AWESOME BOOK!!! not a five star because it has some stupid or awkward moments but its sooo a four star!!! this book should be #1 book read by teens!!! totally!!!
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.