Reader reviews and comments on The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

by Sherman Alexie

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 230 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2009, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Amy Reading

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

christina (03/11/16)

book rated
It is an amazing book.
julian (09/19/09)

funny but immature
It was a great book ,but it was written like it was for younger people, like 5th graders. The rating of maturity content to writing style didn't make sense, 8th grade maturity to 5th grade writing level.
Grandma Patty (04/02/09)

15 year old loves Sherman Alexie's Books
The Absolutely True Story of a Part-time Indian was a birthday gift to my grandson. I was amazed that he began reading the book the day he received it. He couldn't put it down. We have now collected more of Alexie's books for him. Our only wish is that Alexie would start a series of books for and about our Indian youth.
Nick (12/23/08)

Funny, True, and a book for Mature teens.
The book was great, the longest I have ever read. It was an extremely funny book. And a book with the voice of an actually Indian teenager.
Dilzina (03/30/08)

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Sherman Alexie has done an excellent job capturing the experiences and emotions of an adolescent Native American boy struggling with his identity. He brings a sense of closeness with the character making you actually like the Indian, almost wanting to become a cheerleader for his success. Sherman almost makes the non-Native reader identify with the Indian boy by sharing the elements that ALL boys go through. It is great to see a Native American artist share their story that not only relates to other tribal people, but the main society as well, showing that we are not as different as people have portrayed us to be.
DJAY (02/16/08)

Good, but so SEXUAL!!
I can't believe how many sexual and curse words there are in this book!!! Good for older teens only!
rain (01/20/08)

Raw, honest--CRAZY funny
Note: geared towards older teens, and teen-at-heart adults. Not for children under eleven. Or for adults older than eighty-nine (wouldn't want get a heart-attack 'cus you're laughing so hard...)

Have you ever been a Native American? Yeah, me neither. But if you've ever felt messed-up, this book's for you.

If you are browsing books in search of something "worth it" (oh I know you book-browsers too well) I say DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP. It is "worth the read".

It is the story of a young Native-American boy caught between a need to belong to his culture, and a need to transcend (aka get over) his culture. But that's not what makes the book charming; it's the drawn-in cartoons/artwork/commentary that makes the book special.

And I'm not kidding when I say it's funny. God I swear I cried I was laughing SO hard.

Witty-complex, hil-air-ious-social-commentary- high-school-drama-real-life-struggle-fall-in-love-with-it read. Please, for my sake, pick this book up. If you don't like it well--okay. But chances are you'll love it.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Spinster
by Kate Bolick

A bold, original, moving book that will inspire fanatical devotion and ignite debate.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.