Reader reviews and comments on Cheating at Canasta: Stories, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cheating at Canasta: Stories

Stories

by William Trevor

Cheating at Canasta: Stories by William Trevor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2007, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucia Silva

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Cheating at Canasta: Stories
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Marion (11/14/07)

Cheating at Canasta
What a delightful read of twelve different short stories of human reactions in early Irish settings. Trevor, a prolific author writes succinct prose that allows the reader to imagine other endings to each story. Cheating at Canasta is just that--cheating at canasta to let the impaired partner participate in life and win. Captivating.
Valerie (11/14/07)

Portrait of Our Humanity
William Trevor's collections of short stories reveals the dark side present in all of us. Leaving the scene of an accident, lying, cheating on spouses are temptations many are faced with during their lifetime. Trevor portrays their humanity with empathy. This collection is a very enjoyable and insightful read.
Elyse (11/14/07)

Beautiful Prose
Short stories are not usually my cup of tea, and after reading the first two in this book, I thought maybe this wasn't the book for me.

But as I read on, I changed my mind. The prose alone are enough reason to read it - the writing just flows beautifully. The author paints you a picture of place and time, and does a good job of showing who his characters are.

Most of the stories are more vignettes - no beginning and no end. Sort of a "slice of life". All of them leave you thinking.

This is not a book for someone who wants a simple plot, with a definite beginning, a predictable center and a satisfying ending. This is for the reader who prefers to savor each word, and think about what he or she just read when the book has been put down.
Theresa (11/14/07)

A Nice Surprise
I am not usually a big fan of short stories, but I was pleasantly surprised by this book. Trevor's style of writing is easy to read and very enjoyable. I am going to have to read some of his other work.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Silent gratitude isn't much use to anyone

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.