Reader reviews and comments on The View from Mount Joy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The View from Mount Joy

A Novel

by Lorna Landvik

The View from Mount Joy by Lorna Landvik
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for The View from Mount Joy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ursula (08/10/10)

The View from Mount Joy by Norma Landvik
This book turned out to be not very satisfying. It did not capture me and I found the author's writing style rather simple. She failed to bring us closer to Joe's character, who is after all the narrator. It is however, a nice travel back it time and I enjoyed the author's poignant humor.
Jennifer (07/23/08)

The view from this mount was mediocre
Lorna Ladnvik developed the story around the universal truth that life never turns out the way you expect. As always, her writing is filled with unexpected, delightful description and insight. This time, however, her characters failed to capture my heart. I did not connect to the characters, so for me, the emotion of the plot felt false and contrived. Reactions to the book, within a group, will most likely be quite diverse, so with mild reservation, I would recommend it for a book club selection.
Teresa (01/01/08)

Colorful characters, downhome charm
Book clubs will surely love this wonderful novel with quirky characters and warm, witty dialogue. Growing up in the 60's and 70's, we follow Joe through his teens into adulthood with his family and friends as they navigate the waters of love, life, and reality. It will alternatively make you laugh aloud and cry. A very good read - as all of Lorna Landviks' books have been!
PAB Sacto CA (11/03/07)

Not my favorite of Landvicks books
I agree with Catherine regarding character Kristi...she was never a real person to me...the fascination of Joe with her was never fully compelling to me...I have read all of the other books by this author..this is my least favorite. Maybe a disappointment was bound to happen. I will not give up for sure and still worth the read.
SAM (10/25/07)

From Mount Joy to Main Street
I didn't laugh out loud, the way I usually do with Landvik's books, but I had a really good time reading it anyway.

The View from Mount Joy contains the same characters found in her other books - the real people who populate cities and towns everywhere. And it is about the same real stories that those people live every day in the cities and towns everywhere.

Simple truth, about the joy and angst of living, that everyone faces every day, and how, if you're just a little bit lucky, one of your life-long friends is a really wonderful person.
Karen (10/10/07)

A Step Back In Time
I've had no desire to go back to my teenage years of angst and insecurities but Landvik's novel took me there - and I loved it! At first I wasn't sure I was the target audience (the narrator is a teenager when the story begins). However, as the story evolved I came to care very much about the characters - even Kristi who is exasperatingly self-absorbed but a marvelous foil for the generous and lovable Joe, the narrator. A delightful story, well told and true to the time as I remember it.
Anne (10/10/07)

The View from Mount Joy
I really liked this book. At first I was a little concerned that it was another coming of age story. Not so interesting to a 63-year old woman. But, while there was a little of that--the story quickly evolved into a fascinating account of family, biological and otherwise. The characters were very well drawn, and seemed like people one would like to meet and be friends with. There were a few tears, but after all life contains a few tears. I am encouraged to read other books by Lorna Landvik after reading The View from Mount Joy. All in all, a very good read.
Teresa (09/20/07)

Colorful characters, downhome charm
Book clubs will surely love this wonderful novel with quirky characters and warm, witty dialogue. Growing up in the 60's and 70's, we follow Joe through his teens into adulthood with his family and friends as they navigate the waters of love, life, and reality. It will alternatively make you laugh aloud and cry. A very good read - as all of Lorna Landviks' books have been!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...
  • Book Jacket: New People
    New People
    by Danzy Senna
    Danzy Senna has spent virtually her entire writing career exploring the complicated intersections of...
  • Book Jacket: Hunger
    Hunger
    by Roxane Gay
    In this penetrating and fearless memoir, author Roxane Gay discusses her battle with body acceptance...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Little Nothing by Marisa Silver

A stunning, provocative new novel from New York Times bestselling author Marisa Silver

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Young Jane Young
    by Gabrielle Zevin

    From the author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes a novel that will have everyone talking.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Resurrection of Joan Ashby

The Resurrection of Joan Ashby by Cherise Wolas

Epic, propulsive, incredibly ambitious, and dazzlingly written--a story about sacrifice and motherhood.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A F Out O W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.