Reader reviews and comments on The View from Mount Joy, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The View from Mount Joy

A Novel

by Lorna Landvik

The View from Mount Joy
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2007, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2008, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for The View from Mount Joy
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Donna (09/20/07)

A Great View
This book offers plenty of the good stuff of life -- joy, surprises, laughter, deep and enduring relationships. Much like life, it also has some loss, grief and disappointment. In all, it's a celebration of an ordinary life lived authentically and a reminder that, if you're looking for the right things, the view is pretty good. I highly recommend this book!
Rachelle (09/20/07)

Enjoyable View
Having never read any of Lorna Landvik's books I was unsure what to expect from The View From Mount Joy. What I found was a great read that made me both laugh and cry and characters that were thoroughly enjoyable to read about. I would highly recommend this book to others.
Dorothy (09/20/07)

Bloom Where You are Planted
Lorna Landvik is a wonderful funny writer who turns the lives of ordinary people, playing the hand life deals them with grace and humor, into stories that you don't want to end. In The View From Mount Joy she gives us Joe Andreson, the son, the friend and, ultimately, the husband that everyone would like to have. And contrasting with Joe we have Kirsti Casey - the high school star who confuses power with joy. This is a heart warming, often laugh out loud, visit with people you'd like to know - I certainly would like to grocery shop with them.
Eileen (09/20/07)

A good View
I would recommend this book to my friends. It is chick lit but the story was good and kept me interested.The story brought up issues about leading a responsible life versus a selfish life.The main character, Joe, was very engaging and fun to follow.
Power Reviewer Madeline (09/20/07)

A Nice Read
I enjoyed this novel overall. It felt a little long, and it didn't grip me as much as I'd hoped it would, but it was a nice read about how a "quiet" life can also be a full one.
Jean (09/20/07)

A fun and quick read
This was an easy book to read and an enjoyable one. Some of it rang very true, especially the parts about living in a small community. However, I thought the resolutions of some of the situations were a little too pat. That being said, there were some very imaginative touches. I especially enjoyed reading about the grocery store contests!
Carolyn (09/20/07)

Enjoyable read
Overall I really enjoyed this book. I found the plot with Kristi a little hard to believe though. Joe was a very likable character and I cared what happened to him from the beginning. This would be a great book club read; there are subjects in the book that would provoke lots if interesting discussion.
Power Reviewer Catherine (09/20/07)

The passing of time
I did enjoy this book on what I call the the passing of time from teenager years up to adulthood. This book is definitively not a "thriller" book, no big surprises just life as it goes. My only criticism is the Kristi character is not a believable one as she turns into a preacher and other "presidential" adventures, does not ring "true" to me.
Otherwise, as always, another good book by Mrs. Lorna Landvik.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.