Reader reviews and comments on Angela's Ashes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

by Frank McCourt

Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt X
Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1996, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 9 of 11
There are currently 88 reader reviews for Angela's Ashes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (07/15/01)

Amy
I found Angela's Ashes to be one of the best books that I have read. Although I found it hard to get into, by the end of the first chapter I was right. The way that Frank McCourt describes parts of his childhood with no hate or nastyness amazes me. I would not recommend that you watch the film first because without actually reading the words that he writes you can not fully understand the book and the excellent descriptions of events. Although the film is still a good one, it is a disappointment in comparison to the book itself. How a person continues to remain positive and and come out of all he endured a better person amazes me. I was thought a bit curious about how Frank McCourt managed to write in such detail events that happened when he was so young, so i wonder is it all exactly correct. No matter what is said about this book it is a wonderful read and an absolutely inspirational story of a childhood.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Julia
What a terrifyingly beautiful book. At one moment it's breaking your heart, and the next it's bringing deep laughs. How young Frank managed to evolve into such a graceful and lovely man is a miracle...or a novel by the title 'Tis. We Irish have a great capacity for outliving our misery!
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Meg
I thought that Angela's Ashes was an amazing autobiography that i completely related to. Not related so much to the poverty, more of the distress and endless sad memories of my own childhood. Being from Long Island or even America, there was a ton of racism against me being Irish and all. I even saw the movie which kept me laughing and crying the entire time!:)
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Candice
Angela's Ashes is a novel unlike any others I have read. Not only does it keep you wanting more, but brings out your every emotion. Frank McCourt is a truly wonderful author that makes you feel as though you are sharing his experiences right along with him.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Vix
I found it amazing how he remembers such small details of his childhood!!! It is amazing in my opinion.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Nancy
This book really got me thinking. McCourt really made me realize that we cannot live by our greed for materials. The whole time I felt that I was there with Frank, struggling. I laughed, I cried, I did the whole bit. Great Book!!!
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Mike S
God, this book is perverted. I don't need to know about looking at naked sister and masturbation, you sick dog. What the hell do I need to know that? and what **** if this Christian kid who's a homo doing in it? Really Frank, this book does not need to be part of our lives to pleasure yourself. Sincerely, Mike
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Brian Harrington
As I picked up this book, I was suddenly captivated by it's vivid descriptions. Frank McCourt sets up each scene in detail so that, by the middle of the book, you can actually feel the spirit of Ireland moving over you. McCourt's descriptions show the fear of destitution and poverty and then encourage happiness and confidence as we watch the resiliency of the human spirit.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.