Reader reviews and comments on Angela's Ashes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

by Frank McCourt

Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1996, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 11
There are currently 88 reader reviews for Angela's Ashes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kerry Payne (10/09/02)

awrite ma hearties,

thought this book was pure bangin! anyone who hasnt read this should defo give ut a bash!

cheerz, c y'all l8r! KP xoxox
Jane (07/15/02)

The book Angela's Ashes was fantastic. It gave you a real feeling on how things were like, growing up in Ireland and going through such a tough childhood. It was hard to put it down, and many a night I stayed up late reading it.
Marcia (07/04/02)

I was glad that I decided to stay up late and watch Angela's Ashes. It is one of the best films that I have had the pleasure of watching this year. I was deeply moved by Frank's experience and couldn't wait to share my feeling with others who had either read the book or watched the film.



I didn't want the film to end. It was truly emotional, funny, as well as informative. I would recommend that if you are not a book reader, watch the film. Truly excellent. XXXXX
Sarah Leonard (06/16/02)

This book is magnificent. It takes you back to the poverty in Ireland and on a journey through the youth of Frank McCourt. It's a very poetic work and I can advice everyone to read it. I'm sure you'll enjoy Angela's ashes as much as I did. It really deserved that pulitzer prize!!!!!!!!!!!
Kim (06/12/02)

This book was excellent and I could not wait to read 'Tis which is also definately a 5!
Laiza (06/02/02)

Absolutely one of the best books written in all time. Not only does it provide a marvelous story but it shows you a little bit about life. In the end you will find yourself a new person, grateful for everything you have. Angela's Ashes--- a MUST read!
Amy in New Zealand (05/27/02)

This book is just brilliant. It makes you laugh, cry, smile and grimace the whole way through. Highly recommended!
hawaiian_goddess_on_her_surf_board (05/24/02)

THE BEST BOOK FOR SURE!!! EVERYONE HAS GOT TO READ THIS!!!! ALOHA

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.