Reader reviews and comments on Angela's Ashes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

by Frank McCourt

Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt X
Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1996, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 11
There are currently 88 reader reviews for Angela's Ashes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Kerry Payne (10/09/02)

awrite ma hearties,

thought this book was pure bangin! anyone who hasnt read this should defo give ut a bash!

cheerz, c y'all l8r! KP xoxox
Jane (07/15/02)

The book Angela's Ashes was fantastic. It gave you a real feeling on how things were like, growing up in Ireland and going through such a tough childhood. It was hard to put it down, and many a night I stayed up late reading it.
Marcia (07/04/02)

I was glad that I decided to stay up late and watch Angela's Ashes. It is one of the best films that I have had the pleasure of watching this year. I was deeply moved by Frank's experience and couldn't wait to share my feeling with others who had either read the book or watched the film.



I didn't want the film to end. It was truly emotional, funny, as well as informative. I would recommend that if you are not a book reader, watch the film. Truly excellent. XXXXX
Sarah Leonard (06/16/02)

This book is magnificent. It takes you back to the poverty in Ireland and on a journey through the youth of Frank McCourt. It's a very poetic work and I can advice everyone to read it. I'm sure you'll enjoy Angela's ashes as much as I did. It really deserved that pulitzer prize!!!!!!!!!!!
Kim (06/12/02)

This book was excellent and I could not wait to read 'Tis which is also definately a 5!
Laiza (06/02/02)

Absolutely one of the best books written in all time. Not only does it provide a marvelous story but it shows you a little bit about life. In the end you will find yourself a new person, grateful for everything you have. Angela's Ashes--- a MUST read!
Amy in New Zealand (05/27/02)

This book is just brilliant. It makes you laugh, cry, smile and grimace the whole way through. Highly recommended!
hawaiian_goddess_on_her_surf_board (05/24/02)

THE BEST BOOK FOR SURE!!! EVERYONE HAS GOT TO READ THIS!!!! ALOHA

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.