Reader reviews and comments on Angela's Ashes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

by Frank McCourt

Angela's Ashes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1996, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 11
There are currently 88 reader reviews for Angela's Ashes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

senior05 (10/25/04)

This book shows you exactly what life was like in the 1930's. It is great for summer reading or for any one who has to do a college or high school senior English report. I highly recomend this book to everyone.
box_monkey (09/27/04)

it was really good and so was 'Tis [the next book in the series] but the only annoying thing was that it didn't have quotation marks... and to answer Michele's question i dont think its the fire thing ... read 'Tis and you'll get it
ticeeblue (09/12/04)

this was a good book, but i honestly didn't like the way things started when he came to america....

but hey, it's not my life!
Pippa (08/31/04)

This book is one of the best of ever read. I'll cherish it forever.

In response to Michele's question:

Frankie's mum stares of into the ashes of the fire whenever she's really upset.
Michele (07/07/04)

i immensely enjoyed this book but am having difficulty understanding the relationship of the title to the book. Any thoughts?
CaseyBlue (06/15/04)

I think that this was am awesome book to read. I even read it 3 times in a row and did a project on it for school and everyone who heard about the book in my class from me thought that it sounded really good. My whole family has read it at least a couple times each and even though I am only in grade ten, I still will enjoy the book for the rest of my life!
Hugh G Rection (05/28/04)

This book was good, but kind of hard to get into in the beggining. It was fun to read about the life of the young Frank McCourt growing up in Ireland. I recomend it for people in there late teens to whenever.
Frankie (04/19/04)

I love this book. It makes a person realize, and be grateful for everything they have. If I would have grown up like McCourt, and I don't think I would have survived. It is truly a heartbreaking story, but McCourt lightens it up with his humor, and makes the book delightful to read.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.