Reader reviews and comments on Angela's Ashes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Angela's Ashes

A Memoir

by Frank McCourt

Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt X
Angela's Ashes by Frank McCourt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1996, 360 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 11
There are currently 88 reader reviews for Angela's Ashes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

senior05 (10/25/04)

This book shows you exactly what life was like in the 1930's. It is great for summer reading or for any one who has to do a college or high school senior English report. I highly recomend this book to everyone.
box_monkey (09/27/04)

it was really good and so was 'Tis [the next book in the series] but the only annoying thing was that it didn't have quotation marks... and to answer Michele's question i dont think its the fire thing ... read 'Tis and you'll get it
ticeeblue (09/12/04)

this was a good book, but i honestly didn't like the way things started when he came to america....

but hey, it's not my life!
Pippa (08/31/04)

This book is one of the best of ever read. I'll cherish it forever.

In response to Michele's question:

Frankie's mum stares of into the ashes of the fire whenever she's really upset.
Michele (07/07/04)

i immensely enjoyed this book but am having difficulty understanding the relationship of the title to the book. Any thoughts?
CaseyBlue (06/15/04)

I think that this was am awesome book to read. I even read it 3 times in a row and did a project on it for school and everyone who heard about the book in my class from me thought that it sounded really good. My whole family has read it at least a couple times each and even though I am only in grade ten, I still will enjoy the book for the rest of my life!
Hugh G Rection (05/28/04)

This book was good, but kind of hard to get into in the beggining. It was fun to read about the life of the young Frank McCourt growing up in Ireland. I recomend it for people in there late teens to whenever.
Frankie (04/19/04)

I love this book. It makes a person realize, and be grateful for everything they have. If I would have grown up like McCourt, and I don't think I would have survived. It is truly a heartbreaking story, but McCourt lightens it up with his humor, and makes the book delightful to read.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.