Reader reviews and comments on Nineteen Minutes, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Nineteen Minutes

A Novel

by Jodi Picoult

Nineteen Minutes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2007, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 5
There are currently 34 reader reviews for Nineteen Minutes
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Chicago Review (11/13/08)

Nineteen Minutes Review
A heart warming story where a quiet boy ends up a murderer. Jodi Piccoult has a good plot, but fails to grab the reader. The characters are not as well analyzed as her other books, and though a splendid story teller, Jodi could have made this book much more put together than she did.
Diane (10/25/08)

Nineteen Minutes
I cannot say how much I loved this book. It was great and shows in actual fact how real life can be for children. I work in a school and things you see daily are sometimes overwhelming. It shows how children can be affected in real life and it makes you look at your family in a different way. People need to remember ALWAYS say I love you before you leave your children you never know what life does bring. I am not a reader but in 2 months I have read 2 of her books and heading out to get another tomorrow.
Kristen (10/14/08)

Book Browse
This is a very well written story. I could not stop reading it to tend to my own family! I was moved emotionally. Jodi Picoult has a way of writing, that causes you to literally see what is happening! I enjoyed it, it really made me think as a parent and as a person, about how what we do or don't do and how what we say or don't say really does have an impact on those all around us.
Lynn (07/16/08)

Great read
While Jodi Picoult always picks interesting subjects, I rarely love her books. However, this was a really good read that I enjoyed very much. Jodi's strength is in character development and dialog. She does an especially good job of describing teen angst. I felt like I was there as it was unfolding. It was fascinating and suspenseful. I highly recommend this book.
V Rasnick (04/25/08)

Awesome
This is by far one of the best books I have ever read. I couldn't put it down. I work in a high school and could identify characters in the book as students at my work place. I think this is a must read for English classes. Everyone could learn lessons from this book.
Sonya (04/21/08)

Think About It
When reading this book I found myself thinking back to every time I've ever been mean to anyone and how it possibly affected them. I think it's all incredibly thought-provoking and life-like. The scary part is that this kind of thing HAS happened before and it's likely to happen again considering the poor moral quality of society. I think that reading this, anyone will walk away a changed and more conscientious person.
Kristi (03/02/08)

Don't waste my time
As usual, Jodi Picoult does not waste time developing her characters, preferring to make most main characters only children of deceased parents. A major plot problem that I could not get past was that the judge for the trial that ensues after this high school shooting is the mother of a student whose boyfriend was killed in the shooting. Furthermore, the mother used to be best friends with the shooter's mother. Come on! That would never EVER happen in the judicial system. I find Picoult's work to be average at best and filled with discrepancies and poor editing.
kirsten (02/19/08)

nineteen minutes
Nineteen Minutes was another GREAT book by Jodi Picoult. Everything feels so real and lifelike in her books and you feel like you are experiencing what the characters are.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.