Reader reviews and comments on Eat, Pray, Love, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eat, Pray, Love

One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

by Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert X
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 6
There are currently 42 reader reviews for Eat, Pray, Love
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sam (10/02/07)

Teeter-totter Travels
One woman's journey. And, maybe she should have had a travel guide!

This woman was remarkably mature and successful professionally, and amazingly adolescent emotionally. She couldn't reconcile success with a family commitment, but took forever to admit it. Then, after wobbling through a divorce, she had a typical rebound romance before deciding to start all over and take on life from a completely different angle.

Good writing, settings and dialogue save the book, but the main character is spoiled and self-serving to the end. It's easier to like to book than the protagonist. Not exactly sorry to have read it but not sure why I feel that way. Loved the cowboy!
Myrta (07/07/07)

Stereotypes
I must say that although all in all the book is not bad I found the part about Italy quite offensive.
Through the lines Italy comes across as a country of mad people who spend their time yelling in the streets and thinking of how to stuff dull Americans with delicious food...not to mention all the bits about Italian people being useless at languages, taxes, organisation, hard work, etc...
I guess the author should have known better before writing such rubbish. I am sure it wasn't Liz's intention to offend Italians but maybe before claiming that "anywhere in Italy this, anywhere in Italy that" she should have traveled to many more places than just Rome and Naples.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.