Reader reviews and comments on Eat, Pray, Love, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eat, Pray, Love

One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

by Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat, Pray, Love
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 6
There are currently 42 reader reviews for Eat, Pray, Love
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Annon. (08/01/10)

Trite
It borders absurd that this story could be glorified to the degree of being considered a personal "triumph."

I would love to see how her story would have turned out minus the huge bank account that allowed her to take the vacation of her life.

There is no depth of soul here...she had nothing to overcome and only herself to think about and all the money in the world to do it.

I give this story a minus 0.
Chris Giese (07/29/10)

Wasn't really what wanted to read
When I first read the info on the back of the book, i thought It would be just what I wanted. But like others have written, it became boring. I think her husband was lucky to get rid of her and her employer was stupid to give her an opportunity to report from abroad and I don't think she had a real good sense of food - which is the only thing she sounded interested in. I did not finish the book-but I did buy it.
Carmen (07/19/10)

over-rated
Let's hope she doesn't write any more books....a waste of good paper.
Pearl S. (07/08/10)

Eat, Love, and Pray
A boring, repetitious travelogue filled with flashback events, which do not clarify narrator's present experiences, but add to the confusion of a self-absorbed individual's whining about her own personal self-inflicted mental wounds that reflect her separation from biblical principles.
Karen (07/02/10)

Eat Love Pray
In one word - BORING. Don't understand how it got to be a best seller, was ready to throw it in the bin after first few chapters. Been waiting so long to read this book - glad I didn't buy it. The friend I got it off couldn't even finish it.
phil11 (05/26/10)

why
This book does not put the author in a good light. Unable to maintain a relationship and unable to maintain any sexual purity...She tells a story, but why?
Not worth reading.
Gabby (01/17/10)

It spoke to at least me
I loved this book! My mother gave me this book when I left my husband. I was beyond hurt. I felt no one on earth ever could imagine what I was going through. And when I read this book , I didn't feel so terribly alone. Even had it been fiction, it at least put into words my jumbled thoughts.
wanjugu (01/11/10)

double standards
The only thing that I could not get past is her leaving the marriage, and that she did not understand why her husband who thought she would never leave him could not forgive her!! Many people say it was courageous for her to leave him, but the word selfish kept coming to my mind. Also thought about the DOUBLE STANDARDS in the American culture because a man who leaves his his wife because he is sad in the marriage I bet would not sell so many books. I loved Elizabeth Gilbert's sense of humor, her writing was good and I feel like I know Italy very well.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.