Reader reviews and comments on Eat, Pray, Love, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eat, Pray, Love

One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia

by Elizabeth Gilbert

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert X
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2006, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 6
There are currently 42 reader reviews for Eat, Pray, Love
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Annon. (08/01/10)

Trite
It borders absurd that this story could be glorified to the degree of being considered a personal "triumph."

I would love to see how her story would have turned out minus the huge bank account that allowed her to take the vacation of her life.

There is no depth of soul here...she had nothing to overcome and only herself to think about and all the money in the world to do it.

I give this story a minus 0.
Chris Giese (07/29/10)

Wasn't really what wanted to read
When I first read the info on the back of the book, i thought It would be just what I wanted. But like others have written, it became boring. I think her husband was lucky to get rid of her and her employer was stupid to give her an opportunity to report from abroad and I don't think she had a real good sense of food - which is the only thing she sounded interested in. I did not finish the book-but I did buy it.
Carmen (07/19/10)

over-rated
Let's hope she doesn't write any more books....a waste of good paper.
Pearl S. (07/08/10)

Eat, Love, and Pray
A boring, repetitious travelogue filled with flashback events, which do not clarify narrator's present experiences, but add to the confusion of a self-absorbed individual's whining about her own personal self-inflicted mental wounds that reflect her separation from biblical principles.
Karen (07/02/10)

Eat Love Pray
In one word - BORING. Don't understand how it got to be a best seller, was ready to throw it in the bin after first few chapters. Been waiting so long to read this book - glad I didn't buy it. The friend I got it off couldn't even finish it.
phil11 (05/26/10)

why
This book does not put the author in a good light. Unable to maintain a relationship and unable to maintain any sexual purity...She tells a story, but why?
Not worth reading.
Gabby (01/17/10)

It spoke to at least me
I loved this book! My mother gave me this book when I left my husband. I was beyond hurt. I felt no one on earth ever could imagine what I was going through. And when I read this book , I didn't feel so terribly alone. Even had it been fiction, it at least put into words my jumbled thoughts.
wanjugu (01/11/10)

double standards
The only thing that I could not get past is her leaving the marriage, and that she did not understand why her husband who thought she would never leave him could not forgive her!! Many people say it was courageous for her to leave him, but the word selfish kept coming to my mind. Also thought about the DOUBLE STANDARDS in the American culture because a man who leaves his his wife because he is sad in the marriage I bet would not sell so many books. I loved Elizabeth Gilbert's sense of humor, her writing was good and I feel like I know Italy very well.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.