Reader reviews and comments on Into The Wild, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Into The Wild

by Jon Krakauer

Into The Wild
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 1995, 207 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 255 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 17
There are currently 135 reader reviews for Into The Wild
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Victoria (04/10/13)

DON'T READ
I "read" this book for my 10th grade English class, I HATE to read anyways. but this is seriously the worst book ever. I read the first few chapters and stopped because it was so bad. after the fact we found out he hitchhiked to Alaska with different people and sent post cards that was all that there was to the book. We had to write book reports and a whole bunch of quizzes about this book and I aced every one even though I didn't read it, LITERALLY NOTHING HAPPENS. DON'T READ THIS BOOK. YOU WILL BE WASTING YOUR TIME.!
kyler (03/10/12)

this book was so boring i threw up
It's good his story got out but he needed to summarize it. I had to read a book based on a movie and I'll tell you what, I have a book report with a third of the ending guessed up into bland none exciting details. I think hobo stories belong as fire starting material
AAC (11/15/11)

SUPER BORING!!
I was suppose to read this for English but really only read a couple of chapters. the beginning was alright but after that I just had to stop reading it. I was not interested in how this guy met lots of people and hitchhiked to Alaska to be away from the rest of the world, its just not interesting at all to. I wouldn't recomend it to anyone..
ema-lee (05/03/11)

A novel-lovers dream
This book, Into the wild, is a fascinating, amazing, beautifully written, a novel lovers dream. While reading this book, the many emotions make it like you were living it, like it was your hopes, dreams and adventures. However I must say that this book is an acquired taste, and if you are not interested, you may not enjoy it as much as others will.
adam malik (03/09/11)

review
If you are a teen this book will be touching and is a good read, but it does get boring at times.
Mariya (02/23/11)

Enjoyed it.
I did enjoy the book. Whenever something makes me feel many emotions, I give it a thumbs up :) The only downside of the book was that it did get boring at times. My brain would shut off and read on autopilot for some parts. Other than that, Jon's writing style is very much admired.
ashley (11/12/10)

good
The book is very good I loved it. People say that is was a boring story well don't listen to the they are not telling you the truth because it is a great book I know that for a fact I hate reading and I loved this book people are not good readers like me and I could still understand it. So I am telling all to read the book it is good I love it and will read it again and again.
Celeste (11/04/10)

Into the Wild
This book is probably one of the best I've read in a long time. It's very detailed, and the plot keeps you reading and reading, you basically don't want to put the book down, wanting to know more about this unique character, Chris "Alex" McCandless. I highly recommend you take the time to read this book, it will give you a different insight about nature and its beautiful yet harsh characteristics.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.