Reader reviews and comments on Into Thin Air, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Into Thin Air

A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster

by Jon Krakauer

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1997, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1998, 378 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 36 reader reviews for Into Thin Air
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Brandon (10/19/11)

Horrible
This book is the worst book I have ever read in my whole entire life. It is so boring I couldn't focus, I read the same sentence about five times and still not understand what the author was trying to say. I didn't even finish the book because i was so bored.
john (03/27/10)

long....
Some parts of the book are good but the rest are like super boring. No offense to the writer, but is there any possible way to make the book more interesting to read?!
jeyaraman (10/22/09)

a must read
The way he introduces the members who were with him, the way he explains about high altitude mountaineering ... He takes you to the chilling top of me Everest. then when you lose the members one after another... you just cant control your emotions.

Highly gripping tragic tale.
Christine (04/28/09)

Amazing
This was by far the best book I have ever read. I could truly say its the first one I have read all the way through. I really enjoy all the information you give throughout the book. I will always remember this book and definitely recommend it to others.
A reader (02/19/08)

read Into thin Air three times, saw the movie once
I enjoyed this book because it was a true story, I enjoy nonfiction more than fiction. Jon writes as if I was right there on the mountain. He is an amazing writer with such an extensive vocabulary. His descriptions of his experience kept me spell bound. The reason I read the book in the first place is to help understand my new son-n-law better. He is a mountain guide and has been in many places in and outside the USA. By reading this book I felt I got inside his mind and understood his passion for climbing and all the danger around it. I am grateful for that. Jon seems that he did his very best in describing his experience on Mt. Everest. He was gracious, humble and knowledgeable. He is a fantastic author. He should not take anything personally, he did his best from all accounts and I am sorry that he feels such guilt. What a terrible thing to go through for all of them.
Keep writing, Jon. You are amazing!!!!

A Reader
mel (02/18/08)

unbelieveable
If you haven't read this book you cant even start to imagine how boring it is. Don't waste your time or torture yourself by reading this book. Just don't do it please.
Buhnay (08/17/07)

Phenominal.
I have done two school reports on this book. Jon Krakauer's writing style makes the reader feel as though he climbs the mountain along with the expedition, and the reader learns of Everest's horrific history. Though we all know Krakauer makes it down, I found suspense pulling me to the edge of my seat every step of the way.

I highly recommend this book to everyone- fiction and non-fiction fans alike.

My whole family has read the book more than once, as well.

Beautifully written, disturbingly descriptive, and suspenseful to the last page- Into Thin Air was fantastic.
MtnMan (07/08/07)

Out of Thin Air
I rated this book as average becasue it is an interesting read despite the underlying facts that have been skewed. Krakauer likes to portray himself in the best light while villainizing others that have been honored for their contributions during that tragic event in 96'. Krakauer who is quick to pass judgment on the decisions of others throughout this ordeal, places blame unjustly upon people that certainly didn't deserve it. He villainizes Anatoli Boukreev for his role, and is critical of his actions. While Krakauer was asleep in his tent, Anatoli was risking his life to rescue three other stranded climbers, who thanks to his efforts are alive today. Boukreev was acting out a pre-established plan to descend ahead of his clients in preparation for their descent, and because of this he was able to save lives. Anatoli's expertise in the mountains was far greater than that of Jon Krakauer, as he was regarded as the "Tiger Woods of the Himalaya." Krakauer bashes Boukreev during the years following the tragedy in his unrelenting quest to make Boukreev look like the bad guy, while making himself into the hero. I highly recommend reading into this situation, and you will soon discover that Krakauer's journalistic integrity is questionable at best!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...
  • Book Jacket: This Blessed Earth
    This Blessed Earth
    by Ted Genoways
    For the Hammonds, a farming family in Nebraska, the 2014 harvest season started with a perfect storm...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.