Reader reviews and comments on The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

A Fable

by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2007, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 9 of 9
There are currently 69 reader reviews for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jebidiah (10/16/07)

Great Book
I think that this book is marvelous and a great book to read and to show not to judge someone one how they look better to judge them by who they are and to show what the Jews went through.
N E Watt (07/19/07)

The Moralistic Universality of Boyne's latest publication
"The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas" was first brought to my attention by a friend who had picked it up in the local library knowing nothing about it. She thought it such an addition to the literary cannon that she advised me to read it.

The novel is set mainly in a rather famous German Nazi concentration camp, where many jews were inhumanely murdered, but also the setting takes us to Berlin.

The reader experiences the War from the perspective of a rather pompous, sometimes irritating, innocent and always somehow profoundly baffled 9-year-old boy called Bruno. We, the reader, are with him as he and his family unit make the move from Berlin to the concentration camp, where his father, The Commandant, is to be in charge.

The boy in the striped pyjamas could refer to Schmuel, a Polish Jew who Bruno befriends on an adventure. There friendship survives the separation enforced by an obtrusive wire fence. In Bruno's innocence he does not realise that Schmuel is a prisoner of the German Empire, and that he is there to be murdered.

A real sense of innocence and the clarity and reality it brings pervades this work. This can be seen in Bruno's lack of understanding of why a Doctor should be waiting on table for he and his family, and in the metaphor of striped pyjamas, which of course alludes to the uniforms that the Jews were forced to wear.

Fearing an imminent return to Berlin, and the loss of his friend, Bruno has one last "adventure" where he and Schmuel would finally be able to play together. Bruno breaks under the fence to play with his friends adopting the striped pyjamas also. Whilst in the camp the Nazi soldiers round up a group of men and boys, including Schmuel and Bruno and they are taken to a hut were they are gased. This is all described to us chillingly through the innocent and childish vehicle of Bruno.

I have read review after review of this book with people stating that this book is not for 9 year olds. I simply don't agree.This novel is universal. The style of this book is simple and clear for any reader. Properly taught to the young by a tutor, teacher, or willing parent this book should become an instrumental work for the children of this country, and indeed the rest of the world.

Indeed in Ireland, where division and discrimination have reigned for so many years, it is vitally important.

This novel illustrates to children and adults alike, the stupidity of war, the ignorance of discrimination, be it racism between black and white or what you will. This novel brings simplicity and an amazing clarity to achieving peace.

This work by Boyne is a universal moralistic and anti-discriminatory contribution not just to the cannon but to society; from child to adult.

This work tells us not to judge on appearances.
bex howarth (07/17/07)

amazing book
This is the best book Ihave ever read!! Absolutely amazing! John Boyne is so talented! I could read this book over and over again!
milli (07/01/07)

wow good
I have the book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas ( the adult one). My friend at school's mum had this book and said that it was really good . Normally I don't like reading and so far ( I am 12) I have read only 2 books that I have enjoyed this being one of them. It is such a fantastic book, my mum and dad thought hat it was great because it is about what really happened in the war. At the end it is quite sad but still very good. I really enjoyed it and would really recomend it to people who do not like reading. And every one else as well.
laura (12/17/06)

The boy in the stripped pajamas
I could not put this book down. That was how excellent it was.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.