Reader reviews and comments on The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

A Fable

by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2006, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2007, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 9
There are currently 69 reader reviews for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

lauren branch (03/03/09)

it has real potiential
This book was very good. It may not be realistic, but some portion of the fence will not be guarded. There were to many poor souls in there to keep count of.
Rach (02/05/09)

Twilight
The book is way better than the movie and most of the time I like the movie better than the books.
Rach (02/05/09)

The Boy In The Stripped Pajamas
This book is a book that I would recomend reading. The book keeps you hooked to the end. If I was a bad person I'd tell you the ending but I want you to find out for yourself. Bruno is a normal boy and I cried at the end!
katie (02/03/09)

lackofresearchonauthorspart
It really annoyed me that this book was so historically inaccurate. I felt that it almost makes light of the Holocaust. How does is it that a small boy in a prison could sit by an unguarded fence for a year and not attempt to escape, but instead let his friend into the prison. How is it that neither of these boys figure out what is going on. I mean the smell of burning bodies everyday would have been a big clue. Oh yeah, and how did a small child make it through the selection process in the first place? Almost all children were gassed on arrival by 1943. There are so many good books to read to explain the Holocaust to children. I'm sorry to see that so many kids are wasting their time on this book. A small amount of research would have made this a better book. But the author seems unwilling to let facts get in the way of his story.
A review from an 8th grader (12/14/08)

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.
This was a great book. It kept me reading and explained the holocaust to me through the eyes of a little boy who lived through it. It takes you through the adventures and life of 9 year old Bruno and his family. I thought this was an amazing book and it could appeal to anyone. The end touched my heart forever and I will never forget this book.
Tilly (11/17/08)

This book really made me think!
"The Boy In the Striped Pyjamas" is about a 9 year old boy Natzi named Bruno. This naive little boy soon has to move from his five floor house in Berlin to Out-With for his father is offered an important job involved with World War Two! Bored stiff Bruno ventures out to discover something new and he meets Shmuel, a 9 year old Jewish boy trapped behind a fence. There friendship conquers their differences but also leads them into trouble.

It's a must read book, I could not put it down! I recomend an age from A bright 11 - Adult, younger children will not understand. I give this a four star rating!
a 15 year old (10/21/08)

15 year olds opinion
This book was amazing. I laughed and cried all the way through it . People say it's for children, but I don't think is true because I know many 12 year olds or younger who wouldn't understand it, and I think that adults would love this book as well: It may not be very complex but that is because it is from the perspective of a 9 year old boy. and I could really relate to every thing that was said
rocky marciano (10/20/08)

The boy in the stripped novella
This book is a well-meaning failure that could be thus summarized:

Autistic German boy -son of Nazi officer- befriends Polish Jew boy -also suffering from autism- at concentration camp.

Bruno doesn't know that his father is in the army and his country at war. Schmuel doesn't realize he is a prisoner, but survives in the camp for one year with nothing to do all day long. Give me a break!

If you see the homonymous film after reading the book, you'll notice the significant changes continuously introduced in the script to make the story (just barely) plausible.

Don't lose your time reading this utter nonsense.

Go get a DVD of Roberto Benini's "Life is Beautiful" instead. It will make you laugh and cry at the same time with a story of love and desperate wit.

Benini's wonderful fable ultimately treats the Holocaust in a dignified manner -- while Boyne's novella is stripped of all dignity.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.