Reader reviews and comments on Ptolemy's Gate, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ptolemy's Gate

The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Book 3

by Jonathan Stroud

Ptolemy's Gate
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2005, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for Ptolemy's Gate
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Felix (08/11/13)

Write another book!
Please write another book with Nathaniel and Bartimaeus - I dont care what you have to say but just do it! I nearly balled my eyes out at the end! So please write another book with Nathaniel and Bartimaeus! Please please please please please pleaaaaaaaaaaasee!
Irene Chan (04/06/07)

(A) Stunning end to an equally stunning book
Gosh! Where do I start. Its hard to write without giving the story away. What happens to Kitty towards the end was totally unexpected. Stroud uses a lot of foreshadowing, but I was so sidetracked by the witty endnotes that I didn't think so much of them.

Adults shouldn't be put off just because this book is only categorized under Young Adult (it's only because of the straight-forward style of writing used). The build-up towards the resolution was brilliant! The change in Nathaniel at the end was so touching. I emphathise with Bartimaeus at the end for he was helpless. He had to watch history repeating itself. With Ptolemy it was the same case. I was in tears as I shut the book. However, I won't be keeping my fingers crossed, hoping for a sequel because the last few lines sounded very final.

As with other good books that I've read such as, "The Earthsea Quartet" by Ursula le Guin and "The Abhorsen Trilogy" by Garth Nix, one can only hope that there'll be more great books like these published soon.
Hanta (02/23/07)

Ptolemy's Gate
It's not very good it's genius! When I sat down and read it, at first it was a bit confusing. It's a book that you have to go with the flow otherwise your lost.

The perfect ending for a wonderful trilogy. This is the second best series I have ever read. Harry Potter being first. I highly recommend this book for young adults and maybe even their parents. The Bartimaeus Trilogy gives us a good view of how politics can work, trust and friendship. I say READ IT!!!
Valerie (02/08/07)

Excellent tale
I am an adult, most of the time I even act like one, and I found this book series excellent. The final book of this trilogy is engrossing, and the leaves you wanting more.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.