Reader reviews and comments on The Penderwicks, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Penderwicks

A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

by Jeanne Birdsall

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall X
The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2005, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for The Penderwicks
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Angelica (05/02/07)

The Penderwicks_ a summer tale of four sisters two rabbits and a very interesting boy
The Book is fantastic! I loved it 100%
My favorite character was Skye!!!
And her black and orange butterfly wing.
Claire (02/15/07)

Awesome!
This book is very well-written and has lots of description in it. I loved how it was witty, yet funny and entertaining. And if Ms. Birdsall reads this, I would definitely read a sequel to this book. Please write one!
Annalisa (11/04/06)

The Penderwicks-More than Amazing
I recommend this book to anyone. This book is more than wonderful it's actually way past wonderful. In this book there was laughter, sadness, and just enough details that I could be Rosalind, Skye, or any other character. When I read it I could just imagine the whole book in my head like a movie.

I absolutely couldn't put it down. This is a work of pure genius and I hope every one gets to read it someday.
Ann (11/02/06)

The Penderwicks
I really enjoyed this old-fashioned story. I liked the humor and the innocence in the book. Even though it seems old-fashioned, the story is set in the present time and in this day and age, I am surprised Jean Birdsall would have the sisters saying that they were going to "murder" one another. There are quite a few references to that effect and I found it disturbing, especially since we as a society are so sensitive to this sort of talk.

In future books, I would like to see that eliminated. Can't she find other words, such as "I'm going to get you" or some other benign threat instead of "Go away or I'll kill you." (page 121) It's such a lovely and touching story but these things ruin it for me. Does anyone else feel this way?
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.