Reader reviews and comments on Eldest, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eldest

Inheritance, Book II

by Christopher Paolini

Eldest
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2005, 704 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 704 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 7 of 8
There are currently 58 reader reviews for Eldest
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Teja Alapati (12/28/05)

Addictive reading
Eldest is a really good book but it got kind of corny with all the "magic." Much better than Eragon, which copied Star Wars. I read Eldest in 1 day and I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the third book.
jim (12/10/05)

its 1 of da best book ever
this is 1 of the best book ever!!! its so adventurous and exciting. it is awesome. u should read it.
UNDEAD-DR (11/07/05)

Very Good Read
Overall it was a great book which I could not put down. It was full of captivating characters and multiple stories to hold the readers intrest the only thing i found i disliked slightly was the tedious training that could have easly been explained in a lot less writing then it was other then that is was a fantastic piece of literature.
Ned Fischer (10/30/05)

Great book
This is the second book in the inhearetance series. This book will leave you wanting more. (I can't wait till the next book comes out!!!) A long epic of Eragon and Saphira fighting the good fight against the evil king Galbitorix. Eragon has gone to train with the elves and discovers many secrets and mysteries. Than in the middle of training he is called off to war. Although this book is a bit choppy in areas it is an all together good book. A little sloweer paced than the last book Eragon this boook will reward the readers who stick with it. All in all I would give this book a 4 and a half. I would recomend this book to young adults or older. Enjoy!
Simon Norwell (10/25/05)

Tolkien # 517
Christopher Paolini is an excellent writer. He could, and probably will, make millions of dollars as a pulp fiction writer. However, in his attempts to write a literary masterpiece, he has succumbed to the deadliest trap of the English language: Theft. The major similarities between Inheritance and Tolkien's works are quite visible if you are familiar with the latter, but, I must admit, not quite as bad as the similarities I have seen between other recent novels and 'The Lord of the Rings'. The prose of Eldest, the writing in its basest form, without consideration for ideas, is excellent, but originality is lacking. If you are looking for a book to read for a bit of amusement, this is an excellent choice, but if you are looking for a deep, thoughtful read, look elsewhere.
t-wag (10/09/05)

excellent
the book Eragon was just what i was looking for, when Eldest cam out i knew i had to read it, I dont know why some people dont like it, but its all opinion. I just so happen to like these types of books. ohwell life goes on. Loved the book!
Brandon J (09/27/05)

1 of the Best in History
This book is incredibele. 90 billion over 1. i couldn't put it down. A lot of times in class mi teaacher would be angry at me because i was reading it under my desk. It's my favorite of a ll time. Second to none every page was gripping. The sadness in the story was overwhelming.
Mitch (09/03/05)

the best book ever
Eldest has to be the best book i've ever read. it's exciting,suspenceful,humorous,andmuch much more.My favorite part is when...Well,my favorite part is one of the most important parts of the book so i don't want to spoil the book,you;re going to have to read it for yourself.that's my rievew.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.