Reader reviews and comments on The Cry of The Icemark, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Cry of The Icemark

by Stuart Hill

The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill X
The Cry of The Icemark by Stuart Hill
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Cry of The Icemark
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Da Chees3head (03/17/16)

This book is great!
I would use emojis for this, but, I can't, I am on a computer. But, I love this book. So awesome, all for school too!
meggie (12/11/14)

amazing book!!!!
The title of my review really sums up the book.
Jonathan (11/04/12)

Awesome book
Stuart Hill's book, the Cry of the Icemark, is a amazingly written book about personal discovery and the fight that people have. Also The Cry of the Icemark is a great book that keeps you interested until the very last flip of the page. This book is definitely in the top 5 best books I have every read. Within the first few words of the book Hill does a great job getting you hooked and into the story. Hill also did a great job of showing the feeling and emotions of all the characters and how they changed through out the book. the creatures that hill has created and the way he shows all the creatures are not how they are usually thought of and it is very creative how he does it. it blew my mind! Through out the book there was tons of twist and turns which kept you on you toes. Hill also did a great job of weaving in subtle history with all of the detailed battle scenes. But, don't be fooled. This is a fantastical piece of fiction that creates no boundaries between what is, what was and what can be imagined. The plot is amazing and is described so that you can picture it in your head. this is a great book for fantasy lovers, but I highly recommend this book to anyone looking forward who likes books with a high pace and good story. Also all the fighting battles and all of the suspense keeps the reader on the edge of their seat, which really makes the book entertaining.But don't worry this book is not just battles, there is also a bit of romance between Thirrin and Oskan. So this book touches every single element a great book has in it which makes it so you can not put it down and definitely deserves 5 stars. I cant wait for the sequenl.
Rose (08/04/10)

Awesome Read
This book I chose for my summer reading this year and I picked an excellent book to read. This book has action, hints of romance, and some violence as well but just the right amount. This book is good for anyone for any age!!!
The Cry of the Icemark Critic (05/25/10)

Ehhh
In my opinion, I think this book can do better because for one thing, people say it will be in movies since like 3 or more years ago and I am still waiting for it. This book is good, but not that good because in my opinion, I dont like the term "wolf-folk" and "Giant Snow Leopards". Instead, it think the author could have used Werewolves, Centaurs, Minotaurs, and well more mythology creatures. Also, a dragon would make this book effective too.
JW6 (05/26/09)

Amazing book
I love this book and series. It is amazing. I love reading. Write more! Please
Genevieve (11/04/08)

The Cry Of The Icemark
I loved this book, I was home sick from school when I was reading it I had got it from our reading center the day before, when I picked it up I could not put it down, I was reading it all day until I finished it ,I loved this book but my school didn't have the second one now I have go to every book store in town to find it! And believe me i will be worth it! If you love reading as much as I do, the you will LOVE this book. Long live the Icemark!!
Esme (10/12/08)

The Icemark books
It started off by reading by brothers copy of The Cry of the Icemark and then I loved them and read the next two. I think Stuart Hill is great because he has alot of expression and describing words so you really get the image in your head. Hill is great author and role model for budding authors.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.