Reader reviews and comments on The Glass Castle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Glass Castle

A Memoir

by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 9 of 22
There are currently 173 reader reviews for The Glass Castle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Bev Manzer (02/19/09)

questions
Hi, I just started reading 'Firebird' and am enjoying it very much, however, I am surprised at how many grammatical errors there are. I am a retired English teacher and my eyes just seem to go to misspelled words, grammatical errors and the like.
Glenys Tilley (02/19/09)

An amazing story
Jeannette Walls The Glass Castle, is incredulous and deeply touching. Her non-judgmental narrative protects the reader from what would be an devastatingly emotional roller coaster ride- perpetuating the view that good and bad co-exist in the human experience. It's a book that stays with you, long after the final word.
Kim T. (02/11/09)

The Glass Castle
As an avid reader, I always finish a book if I read past page 25. Unfortunately, I read past 25. This seem much like, Frey and Stephen Glass, great story tellers with great imaginations and the lack of integrity to pass off embellished work as non-fiction.
Britvix (02/07/09)

810
Before I start I should inform you that I am not one for reading books quickly. I have a hard time getting into plots and it usually takes me about a month to finish a book. However, after hearing great things about The Glass Castle, I thought that I would have it read within a few days. Unfortunately, it has been sitting on my bedside table for nearly a month with about 6 pages being read at a time.
Now, this isn't to say that it isn't a good book - because it is. It is a great portrayal of real life and it shows the complexities of families. The reader ends up liking each of the characters for their own strengths and weaknesses, even though the life choices that they make are different from what I have ever experienced or from what i would ever put my own kids through.
This being said, what lacked for me was movement. I think that the beginning was great and the end was great but the middle seemed slow. I wish more would have been spent on the experiences Jeannette had in New York.
Overall, if you want a decent read, I would read The Glass Castle.
marilyn kruse (02/01/09)

new insight
I admit I read books basically to see how characters or people endure or adapt in this world. And what I've found is that most of us can survive much tougher odds than we thought we could, much more pain and discomfort. And I laugh at myself and all the middle class parents breaking their necks to give their kids everything. These kids suffered tremendously, it was obvious. Yet they were given many gifts along the way, and developed the greatest resourcefulness as a result.And my husband's and my own experience working in jobs we hated to pay the mortgage makes me understand the parents' choices a little better. What, really, did we give our kids but material comforts and unhappy parents.
bookreader (01/26/09)

The Glass Castle
This was one of the best books that I have ever read. It was hard to put down once I started reading it. I work in social services and it gave me a whole new outlook on life, and the patients that I deal with.
Holly (01/21/09)

Easy read, inspiring story of overcoming adversity
I was amazed at the level of details the author had from her childhood and how she gave us just enough without going overboard on her descriptions of she and her siblings neglectful upbringing. You will pull for them to escape yet laugh with them as they make the best of their situation and teach us all a lesson in honoring our parents. Excellent read.
Kathy (01/18/09)

Glass Castle
Just finished Glass Castle, it was entertaining, funny and horrifying all at the same time. A page turner, could not put it down. I am surprised that the author cut her parents as much slack as she did but I guess it is true that blood is thicker than water. It demonstrates that one does not have to be a product of their environment. Clearly her parents were brilliant people, but there is a fine line between brilliance and insanity and this book proves it.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.