Reader reviews and comments on The Glass Castle, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Glass Castle

A Memoir

by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2005, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2006, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 8 of 22
There are currently 173 reader reviews for The Glass Castle
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Justine (08/01/09)

Inspiring
Jeanette Walls is an inspiring author. She has touched my life in a way no other read has. I can relate to several of her stories, but her life seemed so much more extreme and complicated then mine ever was. So I think to myself, "What do I really have to complain about? I can free myself from this life and get away from it all and achieve so much more, just like Jeanette did." I hope so many other readers understand this logic and are able to achieve more for themselves, knowing they deserve it. Jeanette has inspired me and undoubtedly many others.
Spring Elton (07/25/09)

Wow! We have no reason to whine about our lives
I work as a detention officer at the county jail. Everyday i listen to inmates complain about their lives. I recommend this book to them and hope that after they read it they can see that their life may not be so bad.
After I read this remarkable story I realized how good most of our childhoods have been and that no matter what the situation we can overcome it and be productive individuals. Thank you for sharing your life with all of us; I truly believe it has made me a better person.
Connie Batich (07/21/09)

An exceptional story of an unbelievable fascinating family!
I just finished listening to "The Glass Castle" on a "playaway" (from a library). I walk 2 miles daily on a school track and so it took me maybe about 5 hours to hear the entire book. Even though your Dad, unfortunately, was a alcoholic (like my husband who died at 60 from cirrhosis of the liver), he was part of what made the story so very fascinating..Your Mom, also was a character of the first order! It was great to see her paintings..she is really GOOD! You were going to lend your Mom a million dollars to buy her share of the inherited property...How much was it really worth? And what happened eventually to Maureen. I want you to write another updated book eventually. You are an extraordinary writer..and wrote so appealingly. I hated for the story to end!
kutler (06/01/09)

castle
I believe this book is quite good. It portrays the fact that you shouldn't care how other people see you, or if they judge you, very well. This book is a good read, as well as a book that you can learn from.
Alicia3 (05/11/09)

The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle was one of the most amazing books I have ever laid my eyes upon. Jeannette does a wonderful job portraying her family and childhood. Definitely a must read!
alice (04/13/09)

glass castle
This book is a very interesting read that although was a little far fetched, captured my attention until the very end.

As many other readers of the novel have said, the story takes many unbelievable twists and tuns that make the reader question how this could be a memoir. I personally don't think that is the point whatsoever. Maybe every little detail was correct and the author told the story perfectly or maybe the whole thing was just made up; no one will ever know except for Jeannette. Her story though shows a new outlook on life that is the most unique perspective I have ever read about. Her and some of her siblings prove that coming from a broken home, you can get out of that cycle or you can take the easy way out like Maureen and in a way follow in your parents footsteps.
Maleigh (03/23/09)

astonishing writer and person.
The book A Glass Castle made my head and heart turn & melt. What a great accomplishment Jeannette made getting out and living a successful life ((; i rate it a 10! 333Maleigh!
Christine C. (03/12/09)

Wow
Love this book. Read in 2006. Can still open Glass Castle on any page and its like the first time.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.