Reader reviews and comments on Kira-Kira, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Kira-Kira

by Cynthia Kadohata

Kira-Kira
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2007, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 5
There are currently 35 reader reviews for Kira-Kira
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anna (06/14/08)

Kira-Kira
This book is excellent. this novel shines like a twinkling star in the night sky. It will speak to readers who have lost someone they love or fear that they could. It is an unforgettable story
Jess M. (05/20/08)

Kira-kiRRa1
I had to read this for school. It wasn't a good book I would at least give it 2 1/2 stars. It never made me want to read more or get into what was going to happen next. I like more advanced books like the Meaning of life, Poetry, Quotes, My favorite book is The Secret!

-Jess
Alyssa Walker (01/26/08)

It's the best book EVER!
This is the best book on the 1950s. When you read it you don't see pictures, but you can image them. You can imagine the pictures because Cynthia Kadohata describes things so well. You could feel like you're in the book if you tried hard enough and if you read in between the lines. I would love for you to read this book but if you think it's bad I don't know what to tell you. I enjoyed reading this book for my bookshare at school. I am doing a game on it. I would love to read any of Cynthia Kadohata's books. I wold even love it more if she made more books.
Takuma (10/08/07)

Kira Kira
This book was wondefull. Beginning to the end. Loved this book!
Madi (07/28/07)

touching story
This book is wonderful! I just love it. While reading the book, you can feel the character's emotions, and really, it's a book worth reading. The characters change throughout the book. I really suggest it.
Cristina (05/12/07)

excellent book
I find that a lot of books for young adults are much more interesting that those written for adults. This book is one that blurs the line between young adult and adult fiction. It is the beauty in the little details that make the novel so memorable. The narrator's observations are at once innocent and yet profound. You get the sense that you know these characters personally because Katie's observations paint such a vivid picture.
Being Asian-American myself and growing up in the South, I identified immediately with the main character's experiences. It was like reading scenes from my own life.
This book is definitely a winner!
Rosalicious (04/02/07)

Kiralicious
Kira Kira is a wonderful book about love and dealing with family issues. It also is a good family book because Katie has problems with her family and she doesn't know how to solve them but with the help of her little brother and older sister she might be able to save her sisters life and the life of her family.
Keera Green (12/05/06)

Kira-Kira is the most amazing.......
I'm 14-years-old and in the 9th grade. I have just finished reading the book "Kira-Kira" and I just started reading it yesterday! I love this book! I have never really liked readying but when I started reading this book I just couldn't put it down. I think anybody and everybody would love this book. Even though nothing like what happened in the book has ever happened to me, I felt some kind of connection to the book.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.