Reader reviews and comments on Mao's Last Dancer, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mao's Last Dancer

by Li Cunxin

Mao's Last Dancer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2004, 444 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Mao's Last Dancer
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Franca McCabe (10/03/04)

I read this book whilst on holidays and found that I couldn't put it down. I read it in less than five days. I knew nothing of the author or ballet but the concept of the book appealed to me and I wasn't disappointed. I grew up in the same era as Cunxin in Australia and had a very different upbringing but I was still able to relate to his story. I will be reading the book again more slowly this time to enjoy his story once again.
Sabrina (09/17/04)

I love this book, I am chinese and my parents were a little better off, but they told me of the same hardships that their parents went through. Also Li mentioned a lot about MAO and he brainwashed a lot of people during that time. That is why certain people see different things from MAO's ERA
My father lived buring the MAO era and he has to pretend he agreed with MAO's teaching, if he didn't he would be sent to jail.

In the end, this book is very sentimental and very TRUE. I hope younger Asians (like myself) who forget their hertiage should read this book and understand what thir parents had to do to come to US and the scrafices they made
Lucia (08/21/04)

This is a really good book. Doing ballet myself i know what it is like relly good!
BookBrowse (05/28/04)

Ruth Wein
I could not put this book down. It is simply enthralling. One was drawn into Li Cunxin's very being and the reader was and in my opinion part of the whole journey, the hunger, pain. joy and achievements of the author. \In addition we were so fortunate to have this remarkable and talented person as a member of the Australian Ballet. He was just so wonderful to watch. I was also fortunate to speak with Cunxin and had arranged that he would speak to a women's group about his remarkable journey from a village in China to the board room of a merchant bank and to the Melbourne Stock exchange.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.